We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, peaceful”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

From the moment you step into the Windsor, you escape into another dimension of service, tranquility and grace. The staff are attentive, the rooms superb and the experience satisfying. We will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr G…Wayne

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windsor. The pleasure was ours.

With thanks for your generous review and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,162)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,531 - 5,537 of 8,162 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Everyone was very courteous and attentive. Would have no problem recommending the Hotel Windsor in the future. Thank you for the Melbourne hospitality and making it comfortable. There will be more to come.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicolle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ms L…Nicolle,

That is wonderful to hear.

On behalf of the team our thanks you for such a strong and positive endorsement.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

first floor room very comfortable and plenty of room. we enjoyed our stay very much ,hope to go again one day it was our 62nd wedding anniversary ,the staff sent us a card and sparkling wine ,a lovely surprise .thank you to all the staff just like stepping back in time beautiful stair case ,the staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried,thank you all so very much, regards Anne and George

Room Tip: fist floor room with view of parliament building lovely when lit up at night
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank george j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr J…George,

Congratulations to you both once again. 62 years is worthy of celebration and we are delighted that your stay at The Windsor proved so enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back for many more celebratory stays in the years ahead.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Windsor for the first time earlier in the year and loved everything about it. A real old school feel as you walk in with the pianist playing in the foyer. Rooms have a load of character and the staff are fantastic. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir,

So good to hear that you both enjoyed your second stay this year as much as your first and our thanks for your kind review and endorsement.

Looking forward to the pleasure of you company again soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room and service on arrival was great they also did a little something extra free of charge as it was my wifes birthday.
The only thing that was terrible was how we were treated at breakfast we called ahead to double check when breakfast was finishing and we were informed it was 10:30 which in actual fact it was 10:00, they then tried to turn us away as the breakfast i had pre paid for was not on their guest list, we then waited 10-15 min whilst they sorted it out then pushed to order and grab anything we wanted and then proceeded to pack up around us, which made it a very uncomfortable and agrivating experiance as I said it was my Wifes Birthday, they also forgot our hot drinks which we had to remind them about. I have to say that it felt more like a management issue more than the people on the floor that set the situation in motion

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clay And Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs C…Clay and Holly,

Sincere apologies for such an unpleasant experience at Breakfast.

You were our guests and we have a duty to make you feel welcome regardless of what day of the week it is (Breakfasts usually stop at 10.30am on weekends and public holidays and 10am on weekdays).

You are quite correct also. Failures in service are always the responsibility of management.

We shall address and hope to have the pleasure of demonstrating such should we have the pleasure of your company again.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel Windsor has dropped off everyone's radar a bit, but you cannot beet the Spring Street location, so close to great bars and restaurants in Flinders lane and Spring Street.

we love the wide corridors, the high ceilings, the stairway. You just don't get this kind of scale in our profit-driven new builds.

Close to most of the theatres, handy for Collingwood and Gertrude Street shopping, only 10 mins walk away.

Room Tip: 'Superior' rooms have a view onto either Little Collins or Bourke Street. Views form the Sp...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr H…Neill,

Thank you for such kind words.

Your room tip is also appreciated but I would caution readers that not all Superior Rooms face Little Collins or Bourke Streets. Best advice from me is to check with the hotel before booking.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon – a Spring Street Superior room may delight also.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staying at the Windsor is always a pleasure. The decor is classic and the service old-fashioned in the BEST possible way! We will definitely return. Melbourne should be very proud to have an establishment of this quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr/Ms W…Vic,

It is always a pleasure and a privilege receiving reviews from our regular guests keen to endorse The Windsor.

Thank you so much.

The people of Melbourne certainly love The Windsor and the team here is mindful of their responsibilities of upholding 131 years of service excellence.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,017 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £96 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing