We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start was spoilt”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were very impressed with our arrival and extra service via birthday card and cake, pity TV reception was poor, outside window badly needed cleaning, we were told breakfast was available until 10.30am, luckily we arrived at 9.45am but felt rushed. Two other couples arrived around 10am and were turned away - not good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert And Beve... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs C…Robert and Bev,

Apologies for the lapse in standards

We are here to make guests feel welcome at breakfasts rather than turn them away or rush them when a new team member has mistakenly conveyed a 10.30 finish time (which is true for weekends not mid week).

Management is responsible for training and we are contacting the 2 guests concerned.

Thanking you for raising the TV reception problems in your room which we shall address with a review of window cleanliness.

Hoping that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you both back for many more celebratory stays in the future now that we have learned the lessons frokm your kind feedback

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,076 - 6,082 of 8,718 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

A magnificent affair with a 130 year old lady. As a true lady she didn't reveal her secrets on the first date, but after this stay we really appreciated what a wonderful delightful gem she is. Amazing ambience, professional staff who know their trade and just a gift to walk the hallowed halls.
Superb. Old fashioned, yes, but in the best possible way. You sadly leave but feeling like you have experienced something rare, but amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr R…Doug,

It is a joy just to read your review. Thank you.

The pleasure was, and will always be, ours.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

From the moment you step into the Windsor, you escape into another dimension of service, tranquility and grace. The staff are attentive, the rooms superb and the experience satisfying. We will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr G…Wayne

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windsor. The pleasure was ours.

With thanks for your generous review and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Everyone was very courteous and attentive. Would have no problem recommending the Hotel Windsor in the future. Thank you for the Melbourne hospitality and making it comfortable. There will be more to come.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicolle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ms L…Nicolle,

That is wonderful to hear.

On behalf of the team our thanks you for such a strong and positive endorsement.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

first floor room very comfortable and plenty of room. we enjoyed our stay very much ,hope to go again one day it was our 62nd wedding anniversary ,the staff sent us a card and sparkling wine ,a lovely surprise .thank you to all the staff just like stepping back in time beautiful stair case ,the staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried,thank you all so very much, regards Anne and George

Room Tip: fist floor room with view of parliament building lovely when lit up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank george j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr J…George,

Congratulations to you both once again. 62 years is worthy of celebration and we are delighted that your stay at The Windsor proved so enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back for many more celebratory stays in the years ahead.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Windsor for the first time earlier in the year and loved everything about it. A real old school feel as you walk in with the pianist playing in the foyer. Rooms have a load of character and the staff are fantastic. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir,

So good to hear that you both enjoyed your second stay this year as much as your first and our thanks for your kind review and endorsement.

Looking forward to the pleasure of you company again soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room and service on arrival was great they also did a little something extra free of charge as it was my wifes birthday.
The only thing that was terrible was how we were treated at breakfast we called ahead to double check when breakfast was finishing and we were informed it was 10:30 which in actual fact it was 10:00, they then tried to turn us away as the breakfast i had pre paid for was not on their guest list, we then waited 10-15 min whilst they sorted it out then pushed to order and grab anything we wanted and then proceeded to pack up around us, which made it a very uncomfortable and agrivating experiance as I said it was my Wifes Birthday, they also forgot our hot drinks which we had to remind them about. I have to say that it felt more like a management issue more than the people on the floor that set the situation in motion

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clay And Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs C…Clay and Holly,

Sincere apologies for such an unpleasant experience at Breakfast.

You were our guests and we have a duty to make you feel welcome regardless of what day of the week it is (Breakfasts usually stop at 10.30am on weekends and public holidays and 10am on weekdays).

You are quite correct also. Failures in service are always the responsibility of management.

We shall address and hope to have the pleasure of demonstrating such should we have the pleasure of your company again.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
826 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
950 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,058 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £83 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing