We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary surprise”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Au
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary surprise”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Elegant without being 'stuffy' and very welcoming! Our anniversary was celebrated in style and we were delighted when a knock at our door revealed a bottle of bubbly provided by the hotel along with a card of congratulations signed by the staff! A weekend to remember!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for choosing The Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne and of course once again congratulations on your anniversary.

It was of course our pleasure to welcome you as guests to our hotel and I must thank you for your kind words of the service team here at the hotel which I can assure you will be passed on.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,272
    2,279
    832
    232
    111
See reviews for
1,082
4,168
572
1,122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful stately hotel with well above average interaction & service from all staff. Breakfast was well presented, plentiful and again the service was first class. Room was comfortably appointed but disappointingly the air conditioning was ineffective and there was quite a bit of noise which appeared to be coming through the aircon vents.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Phil A,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay, the pleasure was of course all ours.

Wonderful to hear that you the service you experienced to be of the highest level and I would like to also thank you for bringing to my attention the noisy air conditioning vent in your room. I have passed this onto our maintenance manager to see if this can be repaired. However I would like to mention that we do have a number of rooms with individual air conditioning units if you prefer more control over your rooms temperature.

Until your next stay we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Back to the Windsor for an overnight winter getaway. Had a fantastic Deluxe King room on the first floor overlooking Parliament and Spring Street. Very spacious and well appointed, and surprisingly quiet overnight given it's street frontage. Lovely greeting on arrival by Russell, the doorman and the concierge staff were also very welcoming. They had helped me organise some surprise flowers for my wife to be in our room on arrival and had chosen well; she was very impressed. Front desk staff were pleasant, though not quite up to speed re the details of the package I had booked, which included a couple of desserts form the menu, 2 hot chocolates and an in-house movie. On checking this was confirmed, but full marks to their arranging the beautiful room for us. Everything was very clean and tastefully presented. Room service were prompt with requests for a vase and an ice bucket. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. We didn't end up getting the desserts or hot chocolates (ate too much at dinner) but the in house movie was good and easy to access. On departure the concierge helped us store our bags after check out so we could go and do a bit more shopping and were very prompt in getting our car when we returned. As always the atmosphere of this grand old hotel is always something to soak up, and it's location so close to theatres, shops, restaurants, covenience stores, parks and places of interest make it an ideal place to stay. We'll be back for sure!.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterandcatheriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Peter R,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is truly wonderful to hear that from the moment you arrived after being greeted by Russell the service team took such great care of you. I would also like to thank you for noting your question about what was included in your room package as I will be able to address with with our team to ensure we improve on this.

The pleasure of both you and your fiances company was of course all ours and we look forward to welcoming you back once more in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A delightful stay at the graceful Windsor. You can sense the nostalgia as you walk through the halls. Our room was elegant and charming and felt like a "big warm hug from your nanna" A beautiful breakfast in the tranquillity of a grand dining room. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Rosemarie R,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

The pleasure was of course all ours and our sincerest thanks from all of the hotel team.

Until your next grand experience we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

High Tea-superb
Chocolate indulgence Package - would not book this again-poor. It was very disappointing - the choice of deserts and the hot chocolate was well below par.
Disappointed the Cricketers Bar was closed as to were our friends who came to have a drink with us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Geoff W,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay at The Windsor.

It is so important to us to receive feedback such as yours and I really must thank you for bringing to my attention your concerns and disappointment regarding our Winter Warmer Package. I will be today looking at this with our Room Service Manager to see what is currently being served and if this can be improved for our future guests.

Unfortunately on Sundays our Cricketer's Bar is closed however we do have the lounge area in our 111 Spring Street Restaurant available and I do hope that this was given as an option for you.

We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is truly lovely, the service is impeccable and the staff friendly. My room was comfortable and had everything I needed. It's a bit tired on the edges but I think that makes it comfortable rather than daggy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Dana L,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay at The Windsor.

The pleasure of your company was of course all ours and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Melbourne.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were excitedly looking forward to a night out away from the kids, but were left quiet disappointed. Carried our own bags up to our room, no offer of assistance. Our room was gorgeous, but unfortunately was next door to the service lift used by staff. We were woken very early by the loud drone of the lift and the rattling of trolleys being taken in and out of the lift. This was constant for hours and completely ruined any chance of the sleep-in we had looked forward to. Mentioned on check-out, but they didn't care.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Carly M,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay at The Windsor.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for a stay which did leave a lot to be desired. Service is something which we pride ourselves on so to hear that upon your arrival you were not assisted and the less than pleasant check our experience is something which I must take responsibility for and work on with our team to ensure that we only improve from here.

Your room was located adjacent to a service lift and I have this morning spoken with our Chief Engineer who will be checking over the lift to see if we have a problem with the motor which may be causing the loud noise in your room.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Windsor in the future and if so please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally assist in any arrangements to ensure a far more pleasant and memorable experience for all the right reasons.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,499 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing