We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the hotel Windsor”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was a really Great hotel with excellent service. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. The room was good, the bedding looked amazing however was not the most comfortable sleep. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Ms K…Michelle,

Great news indeed.

The pleasure was ours and the team appreciate such a strong endorsement. Thank you.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,910 - 5,916 of 8,611 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

I always love staying at The Hotel Windsor. A home away from home when I am in Melbourne on business, but so much more than home provides! Safe, secure and quiet with amazing beds ensuring a great night's sleep. And the French toast on room service for breakfast is exceptional. Such a treat. The staff are amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Ms M…Jennifer,

Praise indeed. Thank you.

We shall keep focussed on achieving such high regard.

The pleasure is always ours.

Until next time our thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are wanting to stay somewhere which makes you feel special this is the place to stay. We booked into a superior room for our wedding anniversary only to be upgraded to a luxury suite. Everything about the hotel is thoughtful and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The superior rooms upwards are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lollipops64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Lollipops64,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.

It was of course our absolute pleasure to welcome yo to our hotel on this your special wedding anniversary.

We hope that we may be apart of many more to come so until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great place to stay. Easy to walk to lots of places and city shopping.
Service is great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Dining for breakfast and a meal in cricketers bar were both great experiences.
Great spot just to sit back and relax when a break is needed.
Would stay at Windsor again next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear HolidayTreat,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service to be of the highest standard.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Did not spend much time at the Windsor except to sleep, but the bed was amazing. Top comfort and quality. Enabled a good nights sleep for our busy days. Would recommend going there if price is right for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Dianne S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

to hear that you had the most comfortable night's rest is simply fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our 3rd stay at the Windsor, love how you come back to the same staff and they remember you and make your stay extra special. Champagne on arrival hand written cards welcoming us back. Russell and Ali absolute legends. Can't give enough praise on the hotel and how wonderful the staff are. Junior Suite first class
Regards Rick and Angela Bowell

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard And Ang... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Richard and Ang... B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It is simply marvelous to hear how much you enjoyed your stay on this your third visit.

We do hope that we may welcome you back on many more to come.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Fabulous hotel close to everything !! Staff are wonderful , rooms very spacious and well presented . Ask for room facing spring st great people watching lots of weddings across the road beautiful gardens etc

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tara245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Tara245,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Melbourne.

The pleasure was of course all ours and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,966 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £98 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing