We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the Windsor”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mentone, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always the Windsor”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Please keep the charm and ambience of this great institution.
It is always good to know that we have the Windsor to stay when we want to stay overnight in the city. It starts from the front door. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mr P…James,

The Windsor’s charm has been protected and enhanced for the last 131 years and we certainly do not wish to alter that.

Thank you for your kind words which are greatly appreciated.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,440
    2,355
    861
    236
    113
See reviews for
1,137
4,312
595
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have stayed at the Windsor on a number of occasions and have come to expect a high level of service and professionalism. Once again, we were not disappointed. The staff were amazing and helpful and the overall experience fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen And Kar... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mr/ Ms H…..Maureen and Kar..,

It is always especially rewarding to hear from regular guests generous enough to post such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Excellent service, comfortable room, location ideal as MCG was the attraction on Saturday afternoon. Assistance when enquired re tram service in Collins Street, as when departing in afternoon, there was a noisy protest Bourke & Spring Street area, and I had a train to catch at Southern Cross. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BarbHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ms. Howes…Barb..,

Thank you. The pleasure was ours.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My husband surprised me with a special birthday gift of 3 nights at my favourite Australian hotel, Hotel Windsor. When the kindhearted staff there found out it was my birthday, they were so gracious and upgraded us to a superb suite for a very reasonable additional charge. Not only that, but when we returned to our room there was a beautiful layered chocolate cake and card on the dining room table. I love the atmosphere of this hotel, the timeless appeal of the classic Victorian styling and furnishings. Oh! And heated flooring - bliss! BTW Don't miss taking tea in the Dining Room!

Room Tip: Pretend you are a traveller in the late 1800's or early 1900s - let your imagination carry you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Mrs M…Susan,

Your husband clearly knows of your soft spot for The Windsor and the team here will be thrilled to hear that your Birthday stay was as memorable as he would have hoped.

The pleasure was ours.

Not so sure about heated floors….perhaps extra quality rich carpets did the trick.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back for many celebratory stays to come in the months and years ahead.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We returned to The Windsor 25 years after our Wedding Day. We really enjoyed the ambience of the hotel then and for us it was still the same. We were welcomed with personalised service with a hand wriiten card to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and the flowers we ordered were beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark And Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs S…Mark and Penny,

Congratulations once again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary.

We were delighted to welcome you back on such a special day and look forward to being part of many more celebratory stays in the years ahead.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

It was a very. Pleasant stay long wait when we checked in and our room had not been fully serviced only 1 decaf coffee and the curtains had not been tied back. & opened glasses had quite a bit of dust a bit disappointing after paying extra to upgrade the room size was good

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ms J…Marie,

We appreciate the fact that your stay was most pleasant. Thank you.

We also note the areas for improvement again with thanks.

For your information and that of readers we are always delighted to stock tea and coffee making facilities to guests individual taste.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Wonderful service at this hotel. Everyone who served us was fantastic. Room was lovely, bed very comfortable and good quality linen. We had breakfast at the hotel one morning and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mr C…Andrew,

Perfect.

Most kind of you to write.

Warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,547 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,678 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 160 in Melbourne
4,885 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing