We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made to feel special”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Point Cook
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“made to feel special”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

it was our wedding anniversary so decided to spend it somewhere special. We had booked a deluxe suite with breakfast, however we were kept waiting a little while as it was busy. They kept apologising for the delay, and when our room was ready, we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The room service was excelent, and the breakfast was superb. Though we were a little confused as to why we had to sign a breakfast bill/form when it was included in price. The service was excelent throughout and they went out of their way to make us feel special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,287
    2,279
    834
    233
    111
See reviews for
1,085
4,181
572
1,123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lismore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed at The Windsor for two nights during the long weekend in a Victorian suite and loved the experience. The dimensions of the apartment are huge, with high ceilings, antique furniture, impressive windows and great views over to Parliament House. One feels that these suites are waiting - waiting for the restoration they deserve from carefully selected experts with a generous budget and an understanding of the era and history within the walls of this unique building. Yes the suite was tired, lacking colour, warmth and some decorative touches such as vases, large artworks and fresh window treatments. But a quick makeover would be an insult and we were happy to overlook the dated decor and instead, appreciate the cleanliness, lovely bathroom, massive beds, antique furniture, space, privacy and excellent service provided. The opportunity to stay in a Victorian suite at a heavily discounted price was something we felt privileged to experience and when restoration begins, probably unlikely to occur again!
The wide halls, staircase, foyer decor and excellent service is worth experiencing and the hotel is in a great position as well. Didn't see in any of the standard rooms, but we would recommend a stay at current discounted prices for those who appreciate history and the absence of boxy, non-descript depressing city hotel rooms!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeofourlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

For booking at rate of $199.00 including breakfast it was definately a good deal. I believe that the above complaints are a bit over the top. The rooms are looking tired, however as we were down in melbourne to visit friends, hanging out in a hotel room isnt what i call fun. On this rate including breakfast i was quite satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

My first tip would be to book elsewhere. We made the mistake of booking four nights on the Stimulus Package, and left on the third night. If you want to fly to melbourne in the evening, get ignored by a couple doormen (oh, correction...they nodded as I opened the hotel door), lug your own gear to your room, not get any of the package you signed up for, not be advised how to take advantage of your "complimentary breakfast", get messages for other guests, wait on hold for 3 or more minutes to reception, try inhouse movie service only to find that someone else is watching the movie (must be one person at a time thing), and then get overcharged ( 1*200g chocolate, 1 cookie, and a juice $28.50) for the mini bar, then this is the place for you. And I am not even going to start on the room.

If you want 5Star service, facilities and treatment, go to the Westin

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This is one of teh most wonderful hotel we have been. It is right in teh heart of Melbourne city, just opposite the parliament. The rooms are slightly small, but very comfortable and warm.

The staff was very helpful, especially the concierge in arranging tours for us and guiding us around the city.

we spent 2 wonderful days in the hotel and the city.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BugsIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Spoil yourself with a stay at The Windsor, this hotel makes you feel special.
Beautiful decor, friendly staff and great service. The location in Spring Street is perfect, a little stroll and your in the hub of the City.
Friendly doormen waiting to help me with all my shopping as Melbourne is the place to shop

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wattlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

A grand old lady and worth upgrading to the rooms overlooking Spring Street and the Parliament Building. Lovely quality bedding and furnishings to compliment the surroundings. Afternoon tea was a delight and bookings are definitely recommended. Good location and very popular for bridal party pictures even if the reception is not held there

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brits at Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,606 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,129 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing