We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We found the victoria hotel comfortable good value for money, quiet, with most importantly opening windows and aircon you can turn off when not required. Safe secure parking at a reasonable rate comfortable good quality bedding with very good pillows.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gratown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the good review and for the positive feedback that you have with ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    980
    481
    134
    118
See reviews for
413
674
291
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as most accom was booked out due to a Bruce Sringsteen concert. This hotel is in a Great location, walk (or tram) to just about everything in the CBD. The little cafe down near Swanston had a good Brekky menu (L'incontro - not sure on spelling- just make sure you are one of the umbrellas).

Negative points - hallways smelt of wet carpet. Room 7122 air conditioner wasn't cooling effectively enough. Even though there were 3 operating lifts being on the 7th floor, sometimes there was a wait, which didn't bother us but FYI.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for one night after the 20 20 cricket test. The location is great for enjoying Melbourne night life. Right in the centre of things. The room was comfortable and had an out side window.great bouns.
The breakfast, that was included in the very good price, was an excellent surprise.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldmanWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your detailed experience during your stay at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

It is our great pleasure to receive feedback, regardless if they're good or bad. With these, we become aware of where we need to improve more on our services.

Anyway, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Have a lovely day.

Sincerely,

Tha Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
468 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 783 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel was a great find especially for value for money. I arranged my booking online and secured 3 nights for $326.

I booked a Heritage Room but as our flight was late, we were very late to check - in. On arrival, I was informed that we had been upgraded to a bigger room with an additional bed, not that we required it. Our room was on the 4th floor and had to go through a glass partitioned door to access our level. This was not an issue for us at all but it did have steps that may have been difficult if you were an older guest. This wasn't a concern for us.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help with any request. We hired a car and used the Victoria Hotel Car park which charges $16 a day. This is a very reasonable price considering what other car-parks were charging. I have to add that one particular car-park attendant was exemplary in helping me with very sound directions and assistance (Thanks Joe).

Joe was not the only great staff member to provide top notch service. All of the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.

The location is the Hotels greatest asset. It is in the heart of the city with Bourke street mall and Chinatown just a hop skip and jump away. We didn't get breakfast included in our stay but it was only $17 for a full buffet breakfast.

They have recently renovated some of the rooms and renovations apparently were still underway, not that we heard anything.

This hotel was hard to fault although one small note to management. Our room was situated near the cleaners room and we found a mountain of heaped towels to be a bit off-putting as we left and arrived to our room every day. Surely these could be kept out of the passage in full view. At any rate, this wasn't a huge bother to us but I'm sure other guests may not like this greeting every day. 'Just a suggestion'.

Despite this I would definitely rate this hotel due to service, location and value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt the hotel deserved an excellent rating.

Although they had free WiFi, it couldn't be accessed from the room but could be from the lobby. The staff supplied a code and password which supplied 30 minutes free access. They also had computers for use in the lobby for free usage. This was very helpful in completing our airport web in check in which they printed off for us. Very helpful.

We also booked our Skybus pickup from the counter staff and the bus collected us from the main door. This was really easy and I would recommend. Its heaps cheaper than paying for a cab.

I definitely rate this hotel and would stay again.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We were in Room 485 but doesn't have a view of anything. Its a bigger room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

it was a good hotel, would stay again, just wasnt blown away. i think it was cause the bed wasnt the most comfy. however very good service, and location. it is a good home base to operate around the city

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel had everything that we needed in our trip. Check in - check out was fast, staff was friendly, room was clean. The Victoria hotel has good location, you are really in the heart of Melbourne, but quiet enough to have good sleep. So, if you are visiting the city for the first time like I did I give my recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel is perfect for all of your corporate and leisure travel needs. The hotel offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of this thriving metropolis and is close to the many eateries and cafés that Melbourne has become famous for. Our historic landmark hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1880's and contemporary comfort. The hotel is situated next to the Melbourne Town Hall and within easy walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, including the Princess Theatre, Bourke Street Shopping Mall, The Emporium, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre Melbourne and Federation Square. Access to nearby trams and trains means you will be able to get to locations like the MCG and the Botanical Gardens in no time. Unsure how to get to somewhere? Our friendly hotel team can assist you with the best way of getting around town. The next time you are looking for hotel deals in Melbourne, come and experience the convenience and comfort of ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing