We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #88 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Small basic old hotel. Our room was very small (479) Had a nice bathroom which looked newly renovated, but house keeping did not clean the toilet. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from, hot and cold selections, juices, coffees, teas. Very noisy air con in our room but they are all the same apparently. The Victoria Hotel was ok but would rather stay elsewhere for the same price we paid I can get better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel. We are pleased to receive feedback, good or bad, and thank you for sharing them. These will be brought to the attention of the concerned departments.

It is our hope that you will come back and give us the chance to serve you better.


Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    1,016
    495
    136
    118
See reviews for
436
699
302
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent part of our honeymoon there , finding it very comfortable indeed. Great ,friendly service. The rooms outstanding. Great location. Very popular. Next time back in Melbourne ,thats where we will be heading again.

Room Tip: All areas seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience and giving us a good rating.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

In a word - noisy! The pipes squealed whenever someone, anywhere, turned on a tap. Maybe my room was the only one affected, but it was terrible. You couldn't possibly get to sleep before about midnight.

And the hallway noise came in so badly that it was like someone was right next to you talking loudly. This wasn't muffled noise next door noise; this was full-on, loud conversation in your face noise. And people weren't yelling either. The doors didn't seal well enough to keep noise out, and the walls were probably a bit light on too.

It's a shame - it really is a nice room; well renovated and lovely bathroom. If all you want to do is shower all night, this is the hotel for you.

Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Sorry, but go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWhoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. The issues you have raised will be shared with the team who will look after them.

It is our hope that you will give us the chance to be of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night only, mid-week, to attend a concert. This hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance to CBD shops, theatres, restaurants & the Southbank precinct. Check-in was prompt & without fuss. Our room, whilst not big, was adequate &, newly renovated. The bathroom was of good size & modern. Reading other reviews it seems the hotel has been undergoing renovations for some time. The only thing we noticed was the strong smell of paint in the foyer & some drilling somewhere but this wasn't an inconvenience. Certainly a great place to stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel and for the good rating that you have for us. It is our pleasure to receive feedback regardless if it's good or bad.

We appreciate you for understanding the inconvenience the renovations have somehow caused you. We are glad to inform you that this part of the hotel's renovations are now finished. The Vic's Bar and Mezzanine are now open for the guests to explore.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back real soon.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for three nights on business. The room felt comfortable, fit for purpose and well cleaned.

Big television and nice new bathroom with fluffy towels.

Reception helpful when we needed to print our boarding passes.

I've previously stayed there many times in the 70s and 80s and it seemed kind of the same but refurbished.

Value at the rate.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the corridors on the path to the lift if you get disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel then and now. We are proud to have patronising guests like you who never get tired of coming back and appreciating the hotel and its staff.

These will be shared to the team who also never gets tired of improving the hotel's services.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We got a great deal online which included a buffet breakfast and on arriving we discovered we also had a $20 voucher and a bottle of wine for dinner. Nice surprise. We were told in the booking details renovations were going on so no surprises there. Renovations didn't affect us at all. Friendly staff in hotel at all times, very big room, fabulous bed and wonderfully roomy ,effective shower. There is a safe in the room,a large TV and good heating. We were disappointed that Foxtel was advertised and yet it is only sports channels. There is no DVD so if you want to watch a movie, hope there's a good one on TV. There is also no toaster so you need to eat out for breakfast. No room service. Car parking is limited but we had no problem ($16) and the young man did a wonderful job under a lot of pressure at check out time. Fantastic location for central Melbourne, so many things to do and see close by, no need for the car at all. I was worried about noise but had no problem with outside noise, only inside noise from noisy young girls in the corridor during the night. The bedhead is on the corridor wall, a huge mistake, no buffering at all from the noise.
The Restaurant was the biggest disappointment. It does the Hotel no favours. Staff speak very little English, and seem very confused at times. We could not get a non alcoholic replacement for the wine, not even a coffee each. We are not drinkers. Food was poor standard, I'm glad we didn't pay full price. It is a Thai restaurant trying to accommodate all tastes but fails miserably. Maybe if we had ordered Thai the food might have been better but going by the fried rice in one of our orders I'd say, probably not. Hint. Don't sit near the stairs, it is the entrance to the men's toilet we found out as we ate our meal and heard flushes!
Buffet breakfast had everything you could want or expect in a buffet breakfast but again trying to please everyone and no really doing anything well. Coffee is a auto machine, not too bad but when you have tea you get the hot water from there and coffee drips into your tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojourn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Victoria Hotel. We do appreciate all your feedback, good or bad. These will be shared to our team who shall look into the things that you brought up.

Thank you too for the good rating that you gave us and welcoming you back will be our great pleasure.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,786 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel is perfect for all of your corporate and leisure travel needs. The hotel offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of this thriving metropolis and is close to the many eateries and cafés that Melbourne has become famous for. Our historic landmark hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1880's and contemporary comfort. The hotel is situated next to the Melbourne Town Hall and within easy walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, including the Princess Theatre, Bourke Street Shopping Mall, The Emporium, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre Melbourne and Federation Square. Access to nearby trams and trains means you will be able to get to locations like the MCG and the Botanical Gardens in no time. Unsure how to get to somewhere? Our friendly hotel team can assist you with the best way of getting around town. The next time you are looking for hotel deals in Melbourne, come and experience the convenience and comfort of ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing