We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Forestville, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked a twin room for one night..was given a double room on my arrival, but that was happily changed. The room was large, and not refurbished. It was ok, but clearly in need of renovation. However as we weren't spending any time in it except to sleep it was ok. The location is good, the main reason I booked this hotel. I was surprised when checking out and asking to leave my luggage I was sent to the lockers to pay $5 (or was it $6?) to put my luggage in there! I probably wouldn't stay here again, as there are so many hotels to chose from.

Room Tip: A refurbished one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about our hotel. We are glad that you like our location as the hotel is convenient and close to everything.

In regards to the lockers, our aim is to provide a secure area for our Guests bags while they explore the City of Melbourne after checking out of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    1,009
    488
    136
    118
See reviews for
428
696
301
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The everlasting and enduring, yet timeless Victoria hotel is remarkably, illustrious, and yet always and forever unforgettable and cherished in my memories FOREVER, when staying here. This old girl watches over little Collins street Melbourne. This hotel is the most irresistible, and divine place on earth to me, as far as hotels go. This hotel in 215 little Collins safeguards all that stay with her. It’s magnificently grand, and yet modestly humble. It is surrounded by avant-garde, ultramodern, and contemporary hotels in Melbourne but none are nor could ever be for me as grandiose, or magnificently majestic, as my ole’ Coffee Palace the Vic.

Room Tip: I can't say there is a bad room. And I'm not telling my favourites. You find them yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty_4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us once again and for your loyalty to the hotel.

It is always great to receive a positive feedback and we are glad that you are very satisfied with our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Once one of the most beautiful hotels of Melbourne, the Victoria Grand is now just an average Ibis hotel, with overrated prices. The old grandeur was nowhere to be found. The indoor Swimingpool is just a small dip to wet your toes. The gym is not much either, but I wouldn't care for a gym anyway.
No breakfast included. But there are plenty places around the corner where you can have breakfast at a better rate than in the hotel restaurant called Alice. My room was clean, it had a window I could open (big thing for me as I dislike air-conditioned rooms). Stairs where hard to find, so I initially took the elevator, which is a bit slow. But he, at least something was visibly old in this place ;)
Don’t expect a romantic place. No in-room Wifi, Wifi in the lobby is ok and free, but doesn’t work in the expensive internet café. My advice: go to Starbucks around the corner for a good free wifi connection and enjoy a good coffee with it.
Would never consider to go there again, but no regrets. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room facing the street as trucks keep parking and making a lot of noise durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GasterNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that you liked our rooms.

The Victoria Hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1800’s with contemporary comfort. We have packages and deals, which include breakfast. We apologise if you did not receive this information during the time of booking. Please rest assured that this has been brought to the attention of our Reservations Team.

In regards to Wifi, we are happy to inform you that we are doing our best to work on the Wifi connection in the rooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Victoria (now Ibis Styles Victoria) during a recent quick trip from Adelaide to Melbourne to see a show. Located just off Swanston Street, the hotel is very central, making all parts of the CBD an easy walk, whether it be restaurants, shows, culture venues or Southbank.
It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, comfortable and friendly. Our room was small, but perfect for two. It had nice, modern decor and bathroom. A great plus was windows that could be wound open for fresh air. There's a nice and large mezzanine area with lounges and tables for relaxing and after dinner and a walk, we spent a large part of our evening there. Like many hotel rooms, there was a lot of light from under and around the door and the curtains didn't completely shield the windows, (but most people are not as disturbed by light as I am). I had stayed at the hotel about 10 years ago and enjoyed it then, so it was good to see it in the Accor group and maintained to their standards. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clemow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. It's always great to receive a positive feedback. We're glad that you liked our facilities and enjoyed our newly renovated mezzanine level. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the curtains in the room. We will certainly
discuss this with our management team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Styles Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were staying in your hotel for 3 nights and on the last day (31 July 2014) of checking out around 8am +, we requested the front desk to temporary keep our luggages while we go visit Victoria Market. To our surprise that your Duty Manager Mr Luck refused to do so and suggest either the whole group check out together or he'll charge us for storage. This is ridiculous as we can't decide what time others want to sleep in or check out earlier or later. He even threaten to not provide any "assistant"!! He really spoilt our holidays as this kind of situation has never happened before in any hotels around the world. It is common for hotel to keep luggages for guest even they check out early. We hope the management look into this matter seriously as his attitude is not wanted in the service industry and upsetting a travel agency will have ripple effect towards your hotel business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasolow03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne, Ibis Styles Melbourne at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate actions to address the problem that you have raised. We apologise for any misunderstanding, which you have encountered with our staff. Please note that this is not the usual standard of our services.

Once again, thank you and we appreciate you sharing your concerns. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Indoor heated pool, spa and sauna on level six. The bar was convenient on the mezzanine level.
Staff friendly, and checked us into the room early. Bathroom was almost half the size of the room.
Good central location near Spencer Street.

Room Tip: Level 6 near the lobby lift gets to the pool, sauna etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveSkateWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager215, Ibis Styles Melbourne at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback and we are glad to know that you liked our facilities and our location.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ibis Styles Melbourne,
The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,694 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,836 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel is perfect for all of your corporate and leisure travel needs. The hotel offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of this thriving metropolis and is close to the many eateries and cafés that Melbourne has become famous for. Our historic landmark hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1880's and contemporary comfort. The hotel is situated next to the Melbourne Town Hall and within easy walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, including the Princess Theatre, Bourke Street Shopping Mall, The Emporium, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre Melbourne and Federation Square. Access to nearby trams and trains means you will be able to get to locations like the MCG and the Botanical Gardens in no time. Unsure how to get to somewhere? Our friendly hotel team can assist you with the best way of getting around town. The next time you are looking for hotel deals in Melbourne, come and experience the convenience and comfort of ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing