We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
99
195
75
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
195
75
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth yarra train stationbunk bedschapel streettoorak roadfree wifino liftshared bathroomsingle roomsmall tvtea and coffeecontinental breakfastminute walkpublic transportstreet noiselounge areafantastic locationcereal
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed in this place overnight on a stop over.

The rooms are basic but very clean. Showers also a bit basic but also very clean. Staff are extremely friendly and the place has a nice backpacker feel to it without being to 'hostelly'.

A nice example, our flight came in early in the morning and we arrived way before our room was ready just to drop of the bags for a while. We were still however allowed to help ourselves to breakfast that morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I've stayed here multiple times on different visits to Melbourne. The stairs suck, but the complimentary breakfast and wifi don't, and it's really close to both the metro and in a decent area for nightlife/shopping/browsing.

Rooms are absolutely tiny, but clean and quiet with TV. The shared bathrooms feel private (one toilet per bathroom, not the dormitory situation) and I never had to wait at any time to shower or use the facilities.

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, by far.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessielinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Claremont is one step up from a hostel with small rooms with shared bathrooms. Our room was on the top floor with a bunk bed, rather tiny, but clean. Wifi is free, basic breakfast included in the spacious kitchen/common area. Rt he building is really nice, used to be a fancy town house, which you can tell by the grand staircase. The location is great, South Yarra is a nice suburb with loads of nice shops and restaurants. It is very well connected by tram and metro, but walking distance to the city centre. The first stop of the free tourtist shuttle buys is in theBotanic Gardens, a 15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place, so I'm going to put it in to good points and bad points:

Good points:
Bargain, breakfast is included so it's cheaper than staying in a hostel which all looked a bit dodgy even the YHA ones!
Really nice staff, the gentleman in the kitchen in particular.
TV in our room!!
Had our own room, didn't have to share with anyone!
In a nice area
10 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens and Shrine of Remembrance
Close to shops and restaurants
Clean bathroom

Bad points:
The third floor smelt of cigarettes on the first night then lingering vomit the remaining nights
A good 50 minute walk in to the centre (but you could hop on the bus or free bus from the Shrine of Remembrance!)
Shared bathroom
The room needed hoovering and the rooms were very small, you literally could not swing a cat!

I'd stay again but not for 7 nights that's too depressing.
Great for school trips though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here one night. The room was very basic (rickety metal framed bed and not much else). Bathroom was shared, but clean. There's no lift so i had to lug my suitcase up 4 flights of stairs. The free breakfast was okay.

Overall it was a fine and the man on reception was very nice, but as a solo traveller i don't feel the hotel was great value. I paid $85 for my room. For $119 dollars i feel i got a much better room and location at the Travelodge Southbank on the subsequent 3 nights in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews