We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
101
197
76
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
197
76
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south yarra train station bunk beds chapel street toorak road guest house free wifi shared bathroom no lift cleaned regularly single room small tv tea and coffee continental breakfast minute walk public transport street noise fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013.

Affordable accommodation in or close to Melbourne is not easy to get at the best of times, and even less so on Auusie Open finals / Australia Day weekend!

It is NOT a hotel and I would say that 'guest house' is also stretching it a bit!

My room was small and spartan with one double bed and very little room for anything else! I was alone, but two people in one of these rooms would have felt very cramped.

The room did have a wall-mounted TV with numerous, mostly Australian, digital channels. Internet access is complimentary, but coverage and reliability is patchy.

Rooms do not have air-conditioning, but rely on the window being opened and rather ineffective fans in the ceiling. I was lucky that it was relatively cool in Melbourne while I was there, yet it still felt very warm.

Because the bathrooms are shared, there is a lot of noise of people coming and going. They were obviously cleaned regularly though.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful, and tea, coffee and water could also be taken at any time of the day.

The property is situated in South Yarra, a thriving area and very close indeed to South Yarra station, providing quick access by train to and from Melbourne with very regular trains running.

Melbourne itself is a lovely city with numerous attractions and just a nice atmosphere, lots to pack into 3-4 days. It IS generally expensive, the now powerful Aussie Dollar making this situation worse!

I'd happily go back to Melbourne again, if I save-up, but would be very unlikely to stay in the Claremont again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any facing north (in summer anyway - that's where the sun is).
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My overall opinion of the Claremount is a good One.It was an enjoyable stay if only for the 1 night .The Breakfast was by far the Best I had in my stay in Australia.The staff were very helpful,& patient with the many questions I asked.The Location was good with a large variety available of Restaurants.not quite sure how one review said this was untrue.If you want Melbourne then take a hotel in the City.Centre.I agree with the criticism that the rooms were too small however.And I AGREE THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE BETTER ventilation to manage the Hot weather one experiances in the hotter months.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Was over for a night to see the Australian Open, and stayed at this place. It's not really a hotel as such, more like a nice hostel.

My room was basic, but had everything I needed. The hotel itself was air conditioned, but the rooms weren't. Cooling was reliant on a ceiling fan and windows, maybe something to consider in the height of summer!! The bathrooms were clean and tidy. Since it was on a main road, there was a bit of noise from traffic, but it wasn't too noticeable.

The location was convenient. Only a short walk to the South Yarra train station, then one stop to Richmond Station. This allows for easy access to the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and AMI Park. The surrounding area has plenty of eating options and general shops too.

It's not flash, but certainly very functional and a nice convenient location. The prices are quite reasonable too!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisterNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building lots of character.Rooms small ..Cleanliness ok could be better..had 6 schools staying at the time we stayed very noisey and reception didnt seem to bothered but regardless breakfast was included and it was great selection..most of the staff were lovely.Good spot to stay too for trams to St Kilda and beaches!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This place is just great. booked for a week while house hunting in the area, checked out after 4 days as we found a place to live, and got a refund for the nights not used!
Super clean and tidy, free breakfast, ample bathrooms, and helpful staff. rooms were a little small, but at that price i won't be complaining. wouldn't hesitate to use it in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews