We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a very well run and nice looking hotel. Everything is clean and shared areas are very nice. Rooms are small but adequate. Staff is helpfull. Very nice choice for a traveller to explore this part of Melbourne, we enjoyed our 3 days here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I recommend you this place as its a good value for money, very clean, easy access to the city with the train station 1 min away, good breakfast, free wifi...hotel located near Chapel st, very popular shopping street

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Luigi5745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My friends and I booked a Quad Share room, which features 02 x double decker beds. This room is shared by 4 individuals. Towels and linen are provided. We did not have out own toilet; the shared toilet is at the end of the corridor. Our first impression of the hotel wasnt great as there was this very strong detergent smell that pervaded the hallway. Not sure if it was really detergent or someone's puke. In any case, the stench was not pleasant. However, room was fairly clean and linen was fresh. The quality of the toilets - being communal - exceeded my expectations. Apparently, it gets cleaned rather frequently throughout the day, so that was quite good.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is situated right opposite the South Yarra Train Station, which means that travelling to Melbourne CBD is far too easy. Also, South Yarrra is a great place to stay it given its proximity to boutique shops and cafes, especially along Chapel St.

If you are on a shoestring budget, Melbourne - as a city - puts your accounting skills to test. Claremont guest house is one of the very few places which offers value-for-money accommodation. The most impressive aspect of this place remains to be its excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weilunng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Chose Claremont because of its close proximity to the city of Melbourne. I must say the hotel was well worth the money if you're someone looking for just a place to sleep and have proper bathing facilities. Toilet was very well maintained despite it being a shared one. There is breakfast provided as well which includes cereal and toast. If you're looking for a posh hotel with other additional facilities then this is not for you. Nonetheless this hotel is definitely worth what we paid for!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a find, homely, comfortable and friendly. Excellent position to enjoy South Yarra, Chapel St and trains direct to the city only 100 meters away. 500mb free WiFi, not bad considering what a ripoff internet connections in Australia cost compared to other countries. We recommend the Claremont Hotel Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I liked this stay as was very relaxing, the staff make you feel welcomed. It is great place to all the activities too. It is really nice style building, free wifi is good too as you do not always do this is Aus. The hotel is really clean too which is really refreshing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank goosethermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good Value if you want a 'Sleep & Go'

2 mins from Train station, less than 1 to trams. If you are a foodie or a shopaholic, you will not care about the room as you will only go there to sleep. Which is great as it’s really all its good for. There was no couch or rest area, so it’s perfect if you just need a roof over your head. If you were to stay there for a few nights, I think it might become a little harder. You literally get a bed, a tiny desk & chair and a TV oh and some selves. That’s it. So it’s no home away from home, in saying that - you are not paying top dollar either, you can save it up there and then spend it on the shops below you.

2 main issues - 1) No toilets in room, have to go down the hall. 2) No lift, if I didn't have my partner I would have never got my heavy suit case up 4 flights of stairs!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank natalie942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 161 in Melbourne
220 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
628 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#130 of 161 in Melbourne
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £21 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886, the tastefully restored Hotel Claremont Guest House is a 1-minute walk from the South Yarra Train Station and a 2-minute walk from the popular Chapel Street. It features a guest lounge with a library, and free Wi-Fi access. Guest rooms are equipped with a work desk and a TV. Linen and towels are provided. Some rooms come with a private bathroom.Free light breakfast is included . The staff at the tour desk can assist with making tour bookings and offering local information. The hotel also offers a 24-hour front desk and a guest laundry. Claremont Hotel is just 100 m from a tram stop, and a 5-minute drive from the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena. Melbourne International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. South Yarra is a great choice for travelers interested in culture, food and cafes. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 8.5 for a two-person trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing