We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Towers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,542)
Filter reviews
2,542 results
Traveller rating
1,901
437
126
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,901
437
126
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal clubpremier suitespice templepure luxuryyarra rivertennis courtswalk in wardroberoom serviceturn down servicevalet parkingworth every centluxury hotelbottle of champagnepool and gymbuffet breakfastcity viewstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,033 - 2,038 of 2,542 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed on a Friday night. Was not impressed by our check-in person, he was not friendly and did the bare minimum to ensure our stay was pleasant. He did not offer us any upgrade or ask if we wanted to add breakfast. When I quizzed him as to why he had not done this his excuse was it is a Friday we are busy and we don't have many upgrades to offer guests. We'd paid for a Premier Room but he made us feel second rate. Were we not good enough to be given an upgrade option, and who were the guests they save these upgrades for??

Next when we got to our room it had a strong stale cigarette smell. I immediately called the lobby to complain as we are not smokers and obviously this room's previous guests had been smoking in it. I got the same grumpy person who checked us in and he was not too concerned about the situation but offered to move us one floor up. It took them over 30 minutes to take us up to our new room.

Check-out was a nicer experience as we were greeted with a smile and asked how our stay was by a much happier and pleasant staff member.

There is no room for arrogant front of house staff as they can make or break your experience.

Great place to stay and play but cross your fingers you don't get Mr Grumpy checking you in..!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I was disappointed to read of your experience on arrival and have shared your comments with the Front Office Manager and Housekeeper for investigation and follow up.

In regards to upgrades, we don’t generally attempt to up-sell guests or sell breakfast on arrival as a standard, as it is assumed that you have made your booking and chosen services specific to your needs. That said, we are of course always happy to review additional services/options at check in but again, generally don’t like to put someone on the spot when they arrive with an unsolicited “sales pitch”. I am sorry that this was not as you were expecting.

Overall, it was nice to read that you enjoyed the property and that the arrival experience was your only disappointment. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

An excellent weekend away. I travelled with my husband and son to melbourne for the long weekend, decided to stay at the Crown Towers, what an excellent choice! It is a great hotel, service is second to none, valet parking (felt very spoilt), very comfy rooms, gorgeous bathroom with built in TV over the bath (greatly enjoyed by my son who pretented to be James Bond with a glass of pepsi and a bucket of popcorn whilst in the bath!). The beds were extremely comfy and the view was awesome, with floor to celing windows and views of the river and the bay. There are lots of places to eat, we had buffet dinner at the Conservatory, which was very nice. The staff were very attentive. We would definetly come back and stay at the Crown Towers.

Room Tip: rooms higher up provide a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickdors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I recently stayed at the Crown with my 9 year old daughter for a girls weekend. The room was lovely, the bathroom was gorgeous. My daughter very much enjoyed her bubble bath whilst watching dedicated bathroom TV. We had a walk in robe that is ideal for keeping cases, shoes etc out of your sleeping area. I loved that the staff were not at all pompous (which can often be the case with 5 star hotels) and treated us well. Would have liked a little more info on the hotel on check in such as were the pool, spa gym etc were. The pool area is wonderful and probably one of the best hotel gyms that I have used. We did not visit the hotels restaurants however found the food court in the complex good for what we wanted. The hotel is in a great spot on the water.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My girlfriend & I are from Melbourne and wanted to have a little getaway over a long weekend. We had never stayed here before and decided to try it. It was in our opinion the best hotel in Melbourne - definitely gave us the R&R we needed!

Pros:
- Incredibly luxurious rooms. Spa bath, little TV above the bath, huge bed, blackout blinds, soft carpet, large TV, spacious, soft sheets. Cannot fault the rooms at all (although note this wasn't the 'standard' room). Both romantic and relaxing!
- Melbourne's top restaurants at your doorstep - Spice Temple is highly recommended! Also lots of luxury shopping and gaming for interstate visitors, but we weren't interested in this.
- Incredibly relaxing reading the newspaper with your loved one either on the sundeck or inside the pool/spa area. Complementary bottles of water were also much appreciated. Pool was nice and steam room was great. Gym was also incredibly clean, quiet and well-equipped.
- Very 'grand' experience!
- Breakfast room was shut down for renovations but we were given a voucher to have a buffet breakfast at one of the top restaurants in the complex. This was great! This was several months ago though and I assume the breakfast room is probably up and running again.

Cons:
- Tennis courts are available for quite a hefty fee. These should be available free of charge to guests.
- Pool area was nice but more of a young family rather than romantic getaway atmosphere. Lots of screaming kids jumping into the pool!
- Service was good but not amazing. Given the size of the hotel though this was to be expected. Check-in was almost 1/2 an hour in line.

NB: for international/interstate visitors, it's in a good location but not 'central' - it's about a 15min walk to the CBD. For Melbourne visitors, this is probably a good thing!

Overall though this was a truly amazing hotel. Highly recommended for a romantic Melbourne getaway - especially if you want to relax with your partner in your very romantic room or rejuvenate by the pool/spa/sundeck area with your loved one! Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in a newly refurnished Half Floor Presidential Villa located on one of the top floors of Crown Towers. In one word, the villa is enormous! though despite its size still felt like a elegant penthouse with gorgeous touches throughout including fresh flowers, plush cushions and a blend of marble and wood panels which creates the elegant homely feel. Well worth checking out, you will be impressed. Warrick Allen

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews