We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

excellent hotel.. very lush and good ambience. Its right in the center of the entertainment district.
Casinos right opposite. perfect for a late night money making (losing) spree
next to the river and a good place for evening walks

Room Tip: room towards the river are peaceful.. towards the road are very active all night
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
There are newer reviews for Crown Towers Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Last time when I booked this hotel, it was no 4 in tripadvisor. Now its #1. It is no surprise.Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in 2011 winter for my trip to Melbourne with my family. We booked triple room, got a spacious double bed room which can accommodate 4 people actually. Fantastic lobby, equivalent fantastic bedroom. I especially love the bathroom. It was my first tv in a bathroom hotel stay, so i thought it was pretty cool. Hot bath while watching cnn (or cartoon network), after a cold winter day walk .. such a bliss. Service is pretty good. We booked Great Ocean Road day trip and also day trip to Phillip island from the hotel reception and the tour was smooth. Food is not a problem as the hotel is connected to a shopping mall with a food court. We eat sushi almost every day. Truly luxurious hotel. Recommend it as a top hotel choice in Melbourne. I could give a 5 star for its service but im gonna give it a 4 star as the doorman was kind of 'lost & blur' when we arrived. Pool is beautiful with gym next to it. Went for a dip for only 10 minutes because though the pool is lovely, it was not warm enough.

By the way, the fountain and chandelier show every night was totally awesome. We were really mesmerised by it. Also, we could see a fire show from our hotel room every night. What a lively hotel in a cold winter!.

Room Tip: Try a room which has a good view of the 'firework' show along the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Be very careful of Crown when you book online. You provide your credit card to cover the room and then they charge another $100 on your credit card when you check in. I left early in the morning to go to a meeting and left my daughter to check out. We had room charges to pay. She handed over the room swipes and her credit card. They didnt tell her the room had already been paid for, even though they knew that, they charged her again. So now we are $447 out of pocket, having paid for the stay twice and they tell us it will take 5 days for the money to be refunded. They should not have charged her in the first place the system already showed we had paid. Sneeky and deceptive or administratively incompetent, I am not sure which.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoD0273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear JoD0273,

I was disappointed to read your review after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

As explained to you on the phone yesterday, your credit card details are taken at the point of reservation however the card is not charged at this stage. Your credit card statement will clearly confirm this. When you checked in, you provided this same card and we take a pre authorisation for the room charge and incidentals, as outlined in our terms and conditions when you made the booking (“Upon check in, a cash payment or credit card pre-authorisation is required for accommodation in full (if not prepaid in advance), plus an additional $200 cash and a valid form of photo identification or $100 credit card pre-authorisation per night to guarantee incidental costs”). A pre authorisation is simply a hold of funds to cover your likely expenses, taken as a security for the hotel. This practice is an industry standard for hotels in both Australia and abroad.

As you mention, your daughter checked out with a different credit card so incurred the charges on her card, not yours. Legally, she could not check out and use your card to do so. The banks mandate that we then send through a request to release the hold of funds on the original card, which we did immediately. This takes several days to clear through the banks system.

I agree this delay is a frustrating one for both yourself as the guest, and us as hoteliers.

I trust this explanation is clear to you but invite you to contact us again should you need further clarification.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Ending a 2 week holiday overseas with a couple of nights in Melbourne, so wanted somewhere special. Could not make my mind up between all the other crown accommodation but was not disappointed with my decision. The crown towers is head and shoulders above anywhere else. From the moment you enter that magnificent foyer and stand in amazement at the staircase and water fountains you know you have entered somewhere special. Rooms are spacious, luxurious with wonderful views of the yarra. Bedding is superb and the bathroom is equipped with everything from a chandelier to a tv at the end of the tub. The entire layout of the room is very clever with a walk-in robe and table and chairs to sit and have a drink while admiring the view. Would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity. Is probably a bit extravagant for some but it was wonderful to treat ourselves and was the perfect end to a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: For a little extra we stayed in excutive king room which was on the 25th floor with view of the rive...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rzjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Was here on business and enjoyed the stay overall. Hotel is reasonably well located is part of a huge Crown complex (although the casino on site isn't my thing, I'm sure others might feel differently) and close to the Melbourne Congress Centre where I needed to be.

Check-in was efficient, rooms were well appointed and of a good size. Breakfast was fine- if you go a bit early, I think you get a wider selection of breads/pastries etc to choose from. I did have a few meals on site - room service menu was not particularly large, but food was fine and brought up in a timely manner... some decent restaurants on site if room service doesn't tickle your fancy.

Pretty good amenities with large, heated pool although I think you'll have to pay for a treatment to use the broader spa facilities. My only real gripe is the internet which was painfully slow - mine was included in the room rate, but I know that this is chargeable for others and I certainly wouldn't pay for these connection speeds. Check-out was also pleasant and efficient so all in all, service was good from start to finish.

All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: View is nice from the higher floors, so would ask for this if possible...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoKad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a beautiful hotel, luxury all the way. We were very comfortable. We stayed 4 nights, I think free wifi could have been included for the price, $25 was a day was a bit expensive when wifi is available free in many other places around Melbourne.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the river on 11th floor, it was fabulous.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had the most amazing stay at this hotel. We only stayed 2 nights but the crown has everything on offer. Beautifully appointed rooms with all the modern luxuries including chandeliers in the powder room and a tv in the bath tub. We were celebrating a special occasion and were gifted with champagne and chocolates on arrival. We also had an amazing view of the whole city and there are a heap of restaurants and bars on site at the casino as well as movie theatre, live entertainment and plenty of shopping. Best spot to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Get the view of southbank.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,620 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
3,877 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,735 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,099 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £173 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing