We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Given I am not a gambler and have never really thought of the casino as a place to take a mini break, we were really very surprised by just how good a time we had. We travelled with or two young children and never struggled to find things to do both in and around the crown complex.

The inflatable water slide in the pool in the afternoons, the Galactica Circus (games room), the aquarium over the road, the flames on display every hour from 9:00pm, the kids were facinated by the experience. Not too mention being able to watch tv in the bath !!!!

The staff are every bit what you would expect from a 5 star hotel - nothing is too much trouble, the place is spotless and has a real touch of class. We had adjoining rooms, 1 x King and 2x Queen bed configuration and could not have been happier with the cleanliness and servicing of our room. Turndown chocloates were always a bit winner with both the kids and adults :)

Even without gambling, this was truely an entertaining place to stay with more choices for food and entertainment in the one place that we've ever experienced before. Las Vegas right here in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark-Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,641
    396
    119
    44
    23
See reviews for
408
977
94
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is truly an amazing luxury hotel. We stayed in a suite with access to the Crystal Club for a romantic getaway and to celebrate my wife's birthday. The suite was very luxurious, but to be honest, we didn't spend nearly as much time there as we expected to because the Crystal Club was so fantastic. It has spoilt us for all other hotel executive lounges, because none of them has lived up to the same standard as the Crystal Club at Crown Towers. Don't hope to get upgraded to Club access, just pay for you it, it is worth it. The pool is massive and the gym is very good too. Luxury on every level. You just have to ignore the casino underneath (while being grateful it pays for all the detail in the decor at this hotel)!

Room Tip: Pay for Crystal Club access. It is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

absolutely loved staying here. This was a nice and central location with plenty of action. The fireworks every hour on the hour were brilliant. coming from perth I had never seen this before and made my first trip to Melbourne so successful. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Once again, we stayed at Crown Towers when visiting Melbourne on business. The hotel was, as always, very comfortable with all staff providing excellent service. However, we will never stay there again during holidays times. There were simply too many people who most likely rarely stay in a hotel of this quality. They did not observe hotel etiquette of being quiet late at night. Lots of loud conversations and doors banging shut did not help our sleep. Their bags being loaded with cheap booze and potato chips was a dead giveaway. We will return when everyone is back at work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great view from room, plus room very well equipped and laid out. Staff very obliging.
Lovely feel in the hotel for a larger hotel.
Would definitely return.
Most important very very comfortable bed.......

Room Tip: Worth asking for river facing rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed in the Crown Towers for 3 nights and it was absolutely amazing, everything is very luxurious. The rooms were large and spacious and the bathroom even had a tv above the bath. We managed to have early check in at 8am which was great and the staff were all very helpful. The location was perfect and close to everything. It has great views of the city and yarra. Defiantly would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear thetravelingtrio3,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay, I appreciate you affording us the opportunity to address the two issues you have mentioned. Your experience with the staff member on arrival is certainly not typical of the service we offer, as other parts of your review highlight. This has been addressed with those involved.

I too appreciate your frustration with the policy relating to the registering for the Poker Tournament and have shared this with the relevant Management.

It appears you had a very busy visit and I am glad you enjoyed the wider complex also. We do look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to treat our family of four adults to a two night stay at Crown as we were headed over from Perth for the Boxing Day Ashes test. We booked and paid for the two rooms nearly twelve months in advance. When we arrived to check-in we were given the run-around with room choices. We ended up having to settle for one room on Level 18 which had great views over the city and the other down on Level 11 of the other side of the complex with not such great views. We did question why this happened and were informed that we apparently should have realised that we needed to contact the hotel with any special requests like room location prior to arriving. This from a 5-Star hotel! The rooms were nice with quality fixtures and fittings and the beds very comfortable. Lovely, large bathroom as well. I would also like to suggest to the management of this hotel that all of those people loitering down at the lobby area that clearly were not staying at the hotel was not a good look! Time to take the bull by the horns and move them on!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fungooley_ruley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing