We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

From the moment we walked into the Hotel we were very impressed by the grandeur and sheer size of the facility.
Our room was a deluxe king - very spacious and extremely well appointed. The marble Bathroom was stunning and the separate toilet and shower cubicles are a fantastic idea.
Would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

There is a lot of opulence at Crown. We stayed in a studio room, lovely bathroom with soaking bath and tv, gorgeous walk in robe, large room, plush carpet, Mini bar well stocked. The room we were in didn't have a great view (round the back of crown, as apposed to looking over the river), so I was a little disappointed, as this is one of the more expensive regular rooms. We weren't treated as 'special', something that other hotels manage quite easily (Langham, Windsor, Stamford). We stayed to see a concert, so had a late night, the next morning we had full intention of sleeping until 10.30! (No kids in tow). Unfortunately, as someone else has mentioned, before 9am, our door bell was rang, and housekeeping walked straight in! I called out that we are still TRYING to sleep. No apology, nothing! We had to be checked out at 11am, why is there not a better manifest of housekeeping, so as not to disturb guests? I haven't had these interruptions in other hotels, so we were a bit annoyed at this one. So make sure to put the do not disturb light on!
We had a nice stay, but not the amazing experience we were hoping for from Crown Towers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Given I am not a gambler and have never really thought of the casino as a place to take a mini break, we were really very surprised by just how good a time we had. We travelled with or two young children and never struggled to find things to do both in and around the crown complex.

The inflatable water slide in the pool in the afternoons, the Galactica Circus (games room), the aquarium over the road, the flames on display every hour from 9:00pm, the kids were facinated by the experience. Not too mention being able to watch tv in the bath !!!!

The staff are every bit what you would expect from a 5 star hotel - nothing is too much trouble, the place is spotless and has a real touch of class. We had adjoining rooms, 1 x King and 2x Queen bed configuration and could not have been happier with the cleanliness and servicing of our room. Turndown chocloates were always a bit winner with both the kids and adults :)

Even without gambling, this was truely an entertaining place to stay with more choices for food and entertainment in the one place that we've ever experienced before. Las Vegas right here in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkKristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is truly an amazing luxury hotel. We stayed in a suite with access to the Crystal Club for a romantic getaway and to celebrate my wife's birthday. The suite was very luxurious, but to be honest, we didn't spend nearly as much time there as we expected to because the Crystal Club was so fantastic. It has spoilt us for all other hotel executive lounges, because none of them has lived up to the same standard as the Crystal Club at Crown Towers. Don't hope to get upgraded to Club access, just pay for you it, it is worth it. The pool is massive and the gym is very good too. Luxury on every level. You just have to ignore the casino underneath (while being grateful it pays for all the detail in the decor at this hotel)!

Room Tip: Pay for Crystal Club access. It is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

absolutely loved staying here. This was a nice and central location with plenty of action. The fireworks every hour on the hour were brilliant. coming from perth I had never seen this before and made my first trip to Melbourne so successful. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Once again, we stayed at Crown Towers when visiting Melbourne on business. The hotel was, as always, very comfortable with all staff providing excellent service. However, we will never stay there again during holidays times. There were simply too many people who most likely rarely stay in a hotel of this quality. They did not observe hotel etiquette of being quiet late at night. Lots of loud conversations and doors banging shut did not help our sleep. Their bags being loaded with cheap booze and potato chips was a dead giveaway. We will return when everyone is back at work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190,555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great view from room, plus room very well equipped and laid out. Staff very obliging.
Lovely feel in the hotel for a larger hotel.
Would definitely return.
Most important very very comfortable bed.......

Room Tip: Worth asking for river facing rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,057 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
4,073 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,251 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
967 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £176 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing