We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Luxurious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Luxurious Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Upon arrival at Crown Towers you feel like a special guest. Everything about the hotel is luxurious. We celebrated my husbands 35th birthday in a Deluxe Room. The modern and elegant room featured a huge flat screen TV, King Size Bed and TV in the bathroom. The Chandeliers in the bathroom are impressive. The hotel offers smoking rooms that you need to request. Valet Parking is safe and prompt. Only 2 complaints. The pool although very extravagent and spacious, is not warm enough. After a short swim trying to warm up, we went into the 43 degree stream room to warm up. The Conservatory where we had breakfast is a wonderfully presented restaurant however it did not have a wide variety of breakfast options. I cannot justify the $37.50 per person. I would stay here again but next time would get room service for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelagent555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.

I am pleased that you decided to celebrate your husband’s birthday with us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your room and the facilities.
In relation to the pool temperature; we have it set at a constant 30-32 degrees. I apologise if this was not the case on your visit, I have informed the appropriate department manager to review. I have also informed our food and beverage department regarding the positive remarks regarding the breakfast presentation and also the feedback about the options available & cost.
We do appreciate your valuable comments, they are beneficial to the success of our operation. It allows the management the opportunity to review guests’ feedback and evaluate our organization’s performance from the perspective of our guests.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,606
    387
    118
    44
    23
See reviews for
400
960
93
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I often stay in this Hotel and every time I absolutely love it! Great rooms, great service and beautiful pool and spa. Only place to stay in Melbourne if you like five star luxury!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discovery2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
I am thrilled that as a regular guest you enjoy coming back to Crown. We pride ourselves on our sincere service and the facilities that we offer our guests – I am pleased that we are meeting your expectations.
We do look forward to your staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We purchased our room [--]& got a great deal that included valet parking and the best buffet breakfast.
All I could say for the 1st hour was WOW, WOW and WOW!
The swish room had a window seat with amazing veiws and the most comfy hotel bed we have ever slept in and the bathroom, all marble and shiny chandlers and the icing on the cake was the LCD TV over the bath WOW!
We stayed for 5 days and can't wait to go back we could not fault one thing the staff was pleasant and extremly helpful and eveything was so clean and luxurious. I think this was first time i didn't want to go home, I still miss the nightly chocolate on my pillow!
Thanks to all the staff at the Crown Towers for the best hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu21Mackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
I am delighted that you experienced the “Wow” factor at our Hotel. Your comments are very complementary – I will ensure that our staff are thanked and informed of your review.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to us in the not so distant future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

My friends and I were so lucky to spend a night in a villa of this hotel. We are Melbourne locals so we weren't really interested in going out or seeing sights, however the hotel is in a fantastic location with everything you would need at it's doorstep. All that we wanted from this short stay was a relaxing time in a luxurious space.
Aside from the villa being spacious, with incredible decor - the pool, sauna and rooftop tennis courts were also great, providing an afternoon of fun in style.
Crown Towers provided us with everything we wanted and more! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
Thank you to the author for your review. It’s very nice to hear that we can not only entertain our interstate/international friends, but also our local patrons. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time. I have informed our team in the pool & gym regarding your pleasing comments.
We look forward to seeing you in the future, when you need another relaxing break away.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

When you stay at the Crown Towers in Melbourne is pays to look up. The light fixtures are completely over the top.
I suppose it's expected in a complex that includes a bells and whistles casino and, (although I don't gamble and can't see the attraction unless you're a moth drawn to lots of bright lights), this den of financial iniquity is worth a wander through just to gawk at the gamblers. They're an entertaining and diverse bunch.
But I stayed here for the fact that this is a great hotel in a convenient location. The service is outstanding and the rooms are sleek opulence. It's pricy (go to wotif for the best deals) but then you always get what you pay for and at this hotel you get the best of everything.
Another plus is the food court downstair which has reasonably priced fare from every corner of the globe. If you want something else a bit nice, there's a fistful of shiny restaurants to choose from including Rockpool. Melbourne's Southbank is a short stroll away as is Flinder's Street Station and the National Gallery of Victoria.
Other points worth noting about the towers is it's extensive use of marble and the exploding towers which puff fire a couple of times each night. It's flash and sparkly all the way.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roserandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
Thank you to the author for your review. I am extremely glad that your enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments are very complimentary especially towards the service you received; I look forward to sharing this with our teams.
Thank you also for taking the time to post your photographs of our hotel rooms and amenities!
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

Love it here.
you dont really need to go anywhere while you are in Melbourne. The crown has it all. Great rooms, great pool. very very nice
Got a free night with rewards points on visa card.
Will be back

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonestaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 June 2009
Thank you to the author for your review.
Crown does pride itself on being able to provide a large range of options all within the same complex, with a high focus on our customer service and attention to detail.
Once again thank you for your positive review and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Crown in the near future.

Kind Regards
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

I took my partner there for his 30th & we had an awesome time, there's so much to do, we never were looking for things to do, love the location, it was fantastic!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cost of suite
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
Thank you to the Author for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased that your partners 30th birthday lived up to your expectations. I will pass on your positive comments to our Crystal Club in relations to their canapés and drink service.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Towers in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Josh O’Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing