We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #15 of 21 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have arrived late in evening. Staff was helpful and we managed to get rest soon. Georgian court has perfect location/price. Its outdated but clean. We travel with small child and we managed to get around in Melbourne only by foot.

Rooms are small, but bathroom is nice. Breakfast is OK.
The price was very good so all the minuses are ignored.

Room Tip: We stayed in room with bathroom. There are also rooms with common bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    41
    33
    23
    51
See reviews for
32
68
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The room was no surprise. Small and comfortable, and a room of contrast. Old room, new bathroom. Car park VERY cosy and not easy to access unless you have a small car. Breakfast choice was huge. Front desk staff were great and very helpful, but the look we got from the cook when we arrived 5 minutes early for breakfast! Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights mid week in an ensuite room on the ground floor. This is an extremely cheap Melbourne stay option that is well situated for a stroll into the centre of town.
However the poor bits: it badly needs a face lift. painting coming off scuffed walls, grouting in bathroom not the best, cracks in ceiling, towels very thin, bugs in the room (although I dont think they were the biting types), a bit of a rabbit warren to locate room, parking was free out the back but drive way and entrance to carpark is so tight a great deal of care needs to be taken to avoid damage to vehicles. There was plenty of evidence that some cars did not escape scratch free. Power points in the room were a bit dodgy requiring adaptors to make up the numbers needed. Corridors were very noisy (not the guests - the floor boards). TV was tiny and perched in a cupboard so it was difficult to see.

The good bits:. Cheap, a nice walk into the centre or the free city circuit tram. Breakfast although not very exciting was ample and OK. Bed was firm and comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Would I stay there again? If I was driving into Melbourne maybe, if I was flying then no, I think there are slightely more expensive, better value units close to the centre, but the car parking charges are pretty high.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an ensuite rather than a seperate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Although this hotel is a bit of a walk to the CBD it's a pleasant walk with much to see (architecture , parks and the Cook House). Great breakfast with lots of variety. Free internet that works in the rooms near the entrance. Comfortable quarters with a fridge. The hot water takes a little while to heat up. Would stay again. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, we stayed two nights....... the room was okay as we were only sleeping in there and we weren't spending much time in there otherwise. The bathroom was really small and the sink had what looked like spilt paint in it.. there were hairs on the floor, the bathroom sliding door lifted away from the track there were cracks in the walls and cobwebs all over the place. When we went to breakfast the tablecloths were dirty and everything looked as though it needed a good clean and the hosts seemed to want it over and done with as soon as possible. When we returned to our room after being out all day we were expecting our room to have been serviced but all that was done was the bed roughly pulled up and towels replaced no bin emptied. All in all this was NOT value for money and the owners should put some effort into upgrading , maintaining and cleaning the property. My advise don't stay here unless you can actually see the place with your own eyes because the web site is very deceiving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On the plus side the guy on reception was friendly - we arrived fairly late in evening. This place is old and really needs a lot of work. Our room was clean enough for a sleep but that is about it - we had a Hummer duvet cover on the bed????? Everything is old but not quaint - I would look around, this isn't value for money sadly - a renovation and this place could be amazing as the potential us there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Simple but ok room for a very good price. The washroom was very nice and clean. The beds was very comfortable, and there was no notisable noise from any streets. I would not mind to spend a few nights there again in a future trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeirAEkaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Magnolia Court Boutique
#144 of 159 in Melbourne
206 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
912 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#102 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House

Property: Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House
Address: 21 George Street | 24 Plenty Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3083, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Court Bed And Breakfast Guest House
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing