We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical building made me feel like a king!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Historical building made me feel like a king!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Last year Accor was having a 50% off sale on hotels worldwide, and I always wanted to come back to Melbourne for a getaway, my favourite Australian city away from home, so I took advantage of it and booked the King bed for one night, although for some reason the room that I got did not have the lounge/couch that was shown on the pic, still I liked it and it was no big deal for me. Checked-in, no problems and the building had a very old-feel to it, as it used to be the state railway administration building before it was converted into a hotel. I was on the sixth floor, and had a nice view overlooking the docklands, trains and other hotel rooms. Slept good, the bathroom was good and it had kitchen facilities, although I never used them. There is a big swimming pool, sauna and a gym, although the bench and bar are not high-quality, plus it was unstable if you're bench pressing 50kg or more, it did the job. The hotel is close to a 7-Eleven, trams, Crown Casino, Southern Cross Station and a 15 minute walk to the mall, Bourke and Swanston Streets for other entertainment and dining. All in all, I loved this place, very different to the modern hotels that I am used to staying in, I would recommend this place for everyone, especially couples with Valentines Day coming up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    699
    234
    81
    41
See reviews for
229
785
136
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Always love to stay at this Grand old Hotel. With soaring ceilings & a balcony overlooking the Southbank precinct, this building is a national treasure! Fantastic locaton so close to so many City landmarks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

First reaction when I stepped into the room was " terrible setup". Most people that stay in a Hotel are travelers with luggage - who wants to walk up 2 flights of stairs carrying their bags to get to the bedroom. You walk in step down 1 step then up 4 steps then another flight of steps to the top floor - all of which are small and pocky. You do not see the first step down as you are looking at the stairs leading up - I tripped over several times and my mother fell and broke her wrist in 3 places - we then spent the next 4 days at the Epworth Hospital - thank you Grand for a stay I will never forget - for all the wrong reasons!.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Grand has been an annual February event for us for nearly 20 years. Over the years it has been great. Last year I wrote a qualified report and this year has been a step down from that.

The meet and greet was again a disappointment and our previous positive experiences of rooms was far from met this time. For the first time we were allocated a 6th floor room. We will seek to avoid this if we return. The sixth floor is less sumptuous in all respects.

The corridors are less grand and our room was tiny, with the sofa jammed against the bed to provide any room between it and the TV. We are used to two storey apartments here and found ourselves in a small single storey room. The shower door did not close and the wall plaster was poorly maintained

The aparent saving grace of having a reasonably sized balcony was undone by having it overlook the curve of the rail viaduct at Flinders Street. The attempt at double glazing could not dampen the screech of metal on metal and rumble as trains negotiated the bend.

The breakfast was good but the experience was spoiled by very significant delay. There was clearly a kitchen problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor. Avoid the rail line and Flinders Street sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#35 of 160 in Melbourne
174 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
3,546 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing