We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom which was lovely on the top floor. It is an older style hotel and it is lovely they have kept the theme. Location was great right next to Spencer train station, Etihad Stadium, the DFO Store, South Bank and central Melbourne all within walking distance. We had plenty of room & had a lovely sleep in the bedding. It probably needs a bit of refurnishing as it is a bit tired especially the timber floor kitchen was worn out and splintering. The indoor pool was lovely and the food in the restaurant was great. They need a bit of mood lighting in the restaurant as it was bright and lacked atmosphere. It was still a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank HappyExplorer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    679
    227
    79
    39
See reviews for
220
760
135
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was disappointed with the Grand Hotel Melbourne on this occasion, having stayed there previously. The most frustrating aspect was that the key card to the room needed to be reset every day. I would go up to my room on the 6th floor and find that the key card did not work, go back down to reception, give my room number and the card would be reset. This was repeated every day and promises to have the problem investigated were never followed through with, nor reported upwards to the Manager. I only got excuses at best, and made to feel that it was my fault that the keycard did not work on most occasions. So, this makes you look at other shortcomings. The replenishment of supplies was inconsistent - only on the 6th of a 7 night stay was a teatowel provided for the apartment; however, the tea bags and coffee sachets were not refilled. The manhole in the bathroom had very dirty fingerprints on it. All the taps in the studio apartment dripped unless you turned them off very tightly, and the shower door did not close properly.

We had a dinner at the restaurant on one evening, and I was very surprised that the roast vegetables on the menu turned out to be red and white cabbage with a couple of pieces of carrot and broccoli buried underneath. Even though it was tasty, it was not what I expected from reading the menu.

We found the bed and pillows very soft, and not as comfortable as the Ibis hotels in the Accor group.

The positive aspect of this hotel was its location, and the building's history.

However, it is looking very tired and the inconsistencies with respect to the level of service quality experienced on this occasion will weigh heavily on my future choice of hotel when next visiting Melbourne (which will be quite soon).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

First time stay at this beautiful old hotel. We were on a $100 a night special deal and were a bit wary of what we might get but the room was large and comfortable. The king size bed was a dream. So comfortable with a pillow menu as well. So very quiet too. Slept like a baby. The bathroom was also excellent. If you stay here, and you should, don't be afraid to use the mini bar. It costs less than buying elsewhere. The staff were excellent. The location is very handy to everything. Will definitely stay here again even if not on the special deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenanamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Pleasant staff, great location and worldly charm. The breakfast options are probably the downside along with the lift. Would recommend to fellow business travellers that like the quaint room and central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had occaision to travel from interstate for a family history get together, The Grand was located minutes from Southern Cross rail terminal, my accomodation was great, I was pleasantly surprised at the restaurant when dining by myself as well as with newly met relatives.It is located close to transport connections, entertainment, sport the list goes on. When in Melbourne again The Grand will be high on my preferred accomodation sites. I suffered a knee sprain while travelling and the staff were very helpful supplying ice, towels etc when requested.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank redned47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have been eating at the RAB Restaurant over a few months. We were impressed with the food and presentation. However since the new menu we have been very disappointed with the food particularly the steak and pork belly. It is a shame as we enjoyed the atmosphere of this great building.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ppwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have previously been to the Grand and have been very plesently surprised both times. The beds are amazingly comfortable. We normally cannot sleep in soft beds and these were very soft so we were worried but they are so well supported, we didn't roll into each other at all and were both very comfortable! The food for room service is great and the staff lovely! Could not recommend highly enough! Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Brianalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing