We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Melbourne gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old Melbourne gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the hotel I most often stay at in Melbourne. For both business and pleasure, it is in a great location and the staff are always really attentive. Best of all are the rooms, each one providing a seperate sleeping, eating and lounge space, as well as a well equipped kitchen so that you can self cater for longer stays. It may not be as 'chic' as some of the newer hotels, but I love the feel of history about the building. Great location, within 5 minutes walk to Southern Cross station, Crown casino and Southbank promenade as well as the Melb exhibition centre. 10 - 15 mins walk to Etihad Stadium and Flinders St station. Tram stop just across the road including the free City Circle tram. If eating in the restaurant meals are also good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Battmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Battmeister,

What a fantastic review - thank-you so much! We also appreciate your ongoing loyalty. As you say, we are certainly different to other hotels, and it makes for a unique accommodation experience in Melbourne.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    679
    227
    79
    39
See reviews for
220
760
135
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed at the Grand a number of times over many years and have always enjoyed my stay. The staff are great and the whole feel of the place takes you back in time. The ceilings are amazing and you have a feel of real space.

I prefer to stay on the eastern side of the building so you don't get the rail noise. The rooms are double glazed anyway so they are quiet. The casino and restaurants are only a short stroll across and down the road. And there is on site parking.

Comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest you stay on the eastern side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spj709Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear spj709Sydney,

Thanks for the fantastic review! I am so happy that you have always felt at home here over the years. Your kind words and loyalty are much appreciated by myself and the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The 1 bedroom deluxe loft apartments have tons of room available in the downstairs living area. Good couches, dining table, fridge, oven & microwave. The presentation and basic amenities are a bit hit & miss - silly little things let the property down - like inadequate downstairs lighting, a reading lamp in the lounge area could fix it. Our TV wasn't working but engineering responded and service was restored - then we found that the volume button on our remote was faulty. Self service check in - carry your own bags into the Hotel and on to your room which could be a 150 metre trek. I suspect the staff and management are all a bit jaded - not a lot of enthusiasm. It all could be so easily fixed with good supervision and attention to detail. But a real option if you are on a budget and plan to spend your days out and about Melbourne and surrounds and happy to self cater or eat out at the myriad of good local restaurants. You certainly won't feel claustrophobic in this room!!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom loft apartment is good value when on sale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ron C,
Thank-you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and the ability to self-cater in our kitchenettes. We certainly do offer a porterage service so I am sorry that this was missed on your arrival. I will share your great ideas with the team too.

Thanks again for your time.

Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooroolbark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were going to the see Carmen at the State Opera so decided to stay at the Grand Hotel. Have stayed at the Grand before and always enjoyed but this time was different. They are finally renovating the rooms and you can stay in a newly renovated room for an extra $20?/? Room we stayed in overlooked the railways with no double glazing on the windows so noisy. Room was extremely tired and desperately needing renovations.

Breakfast is always outstanding.

Just found the standard and service was lower than previous which was disappointing as we had always enjoyed staying here. Would I go back? Not until renovations have been finished.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jules3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jules3391,

Thank-you for your review and ongoing loyalty. I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, but I am sorry that this stay was not as comfortable as past stays. As you say, we are undergoing a refurbishment and the new deluxe rooms are lovely. You are welcome to contact me on h3029-gm2@accor.com and I will extend a complimentary upgrade on your next stay so you can try one.

Thanks again for your time and feedback.

Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

this hotel is a must. I booked it through the secret hotel thing and boy was I pleased with what I got!!!! it's just beautiful! in a great location from Southern cross train station and close to all amenities will most defiantly be returning

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catmac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Catmac82,

Thank-you for the lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your surprise booking and had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kindest Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there last year purely it is closest both to the Exhibition Centre & Southern Cross station. Though the facade is really nice, the room inside is a bit tired. The customer service was a let down as staff seems to be lack of motivation, even to smile.

Room Tip: Bigger is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Lawrence,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the heritage building and the location suited your needs whilst in Melbourne. We are undergoing a refurbishment so definitely try a deluxe room on your next stay. I am sorry to hear though that the service was not overly friendly. I will certainly share this with the team and I do hope it was an isolated incident as we do pride ourselves on our service. Thanks for the feedback though.

Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing