We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Girls Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Luxury Girls Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

My best friend and I chose to stay at the Grand Hotel when we flew to Melbourne for a girls week. We had been looking forward to the trip for months and were anticipating a week of absolute luxury- which we certainly got! My friend and I were greeted very warmly by the doorman and check-in was a breeze. We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments- it was loft style and came fully equipped with a kitchen, separate dining room, second toilet and our own laundry. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in- it was seriously like sleeping on air. This was complimented by how quiet and private the room was. The location is great...walking distance to just about everything and across the road from a tram stop that leads to St Kilda for a day at the beach. Overall the Grand offered us everything we had hoped and more- a beautiful hotel with amazingly unique features, charm, and overall great service. You get what you pay for- the rooms are fairly expensive but certainly won't disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_201010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Dear Past
Guest, Many thanks for your thoughtful feedback – it is much appreciated by myself and our staff, and I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to them personally. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when you next say.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    679
    227
    79
    39
See reviews for
220
760
135
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

The rooms are modern and large, our only concern was that the parking was expensive for unsecured parking

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel was recommended by Equitana Show and I can see why. Close to transport and walks along the river. The balconies are if you get tired of aircon and the teenagers. The suites are big enough to have your own space.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your words of encouragement. Comments like this really do have a great impact on our team's commitment to impressing every guest. It is very much appreciated and valued. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when next you stay.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

The hotel looks lovely from the outside and is an EXCELLENT location, but once you step into the lobby you could see clearly this was not a 5 star hotel as advertised. It's quite worn down on the inside and in the rooms showing it's age. I didn't have any issues hearing the train passing nearby like others complained, the room was very roomy but this is definitely not 5 stars in quality nor service. More of a sort of a motel or hostel feel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachtreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We consider it an invaluable tool in helping us to continually improve on the level of facilities that we provide.
The Grand Central Apartment Building is one of Melbourne's most treasured possessions. Protected by the Heritage Council of Victoria.
Regards.
Paul McConville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Located conveniently to the Exhibition Centre and Southern Cross Station. Friendly and helpful staff. Liked the kitchen - we could cook for ourselves and have a relaxing evening after a hard day's work. Convenience stores nearby. Room very quiet and comfortable. Bed fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing