We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and good location”
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reasonably priced and good location.

As for the noise—the hotel is in the CBD, so I am not sure what most people expect? The noise wasn’t a problem for us. It was more of a problem when there was no noise at all!

Friendly reception and cleaning staff.

Central to a lot of restaurants and a tram line right outside the hotel.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madolline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with future travellers.
The hotel is close to all the essential destinations in Melbourne and we are lucky enough to have the tram stop so close.
The noise levels are what you would expect from a CBD located hotel. However we do recognise that this is an issue for some of our guests and we are defiantly investigating options to resolve this disturbance in the future.
We look forward to seeing you again on you next Melbourne visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is our second visit to the Jasper hotel. The first was last year around Christmas time. The same person at the reception (Sophie if I remember correctly) welcomed us pleasantly and was very helpful. Although the room was not ready when we arrived (earlier than the official check-in time), she offered to store our luggage and to contact us as soon as it became available. This sort of service would be expected in more luxurious accommodations but I don't see it often in cheaper hotels (often it is the guest that has to ask first). Other staff were also helpful during our stay and when we checked out, with the taxi booking and giving us a morning call.

The 2-bedroom unit we had was not particularly large, but comfortable enough. There was a tea/coffee-making station between the sleeping area and the bathroom. After our disappointing stay at Tune hotel where amenities were scarce, many little things here seemed like a great deal. But above all, we liked the hotel location which is practically next to Queen Victoria market. This is one of the must-visit places for visitors to Melbourne, and my relatives loved the market - sometimes they visited it twice on the same day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all welcome back to the hotel and thank you for your review on trip advisor.
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your second stay at the Jasper Hotel.
We do have to agree our location is perfect. On our back doorstep is the Queen Victoria Market with the City Centre a hop step and a jump away.
Al our Hotel staff pride themselves on our personalised customer service levels, it is nice to be recognised for our efforts. I will make mention of your comments to Sophie, I’m sure it will make her day.
See you next time you’re in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A nice hotel and would not fault much. Road noise is a problem and unfortunately paper thin walls meant we were woken with the next rooms loud intimate moments. Because of that I wouldn't come back. I think in traumatized for life!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillyrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Jillyrss,

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our hotel, however experienced an unfortunate incident with your neighbours. The hotels walls are made from fire retardant materials so I do fine it odd that you experienced noise issues.
However, despite your neighbours we do hope to welcome you to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel had all the basics - good-sized room, clean, comfortable bed, great location next to Victoria Market. But for the price and the clear attempt to be cool and hip, it missed the mark on the little things. I was very disappointed not to have free wi-fi, and the extremely limited selection of TV channels quickly became boring (we stayed 6 nights). The front desk attendant had incorrect information about the Skybus pick-up service, and the cleaning staff forgot on multiple occasions to give us a bath mat. And with a shower that leaked like a sieve, the bath mat was necessary! I would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Erica,

Thank you for your review and I would like to apologise to you for the issues that you have raised during your stay with us at the hotel. I have discussed with the front office team the importance of providing guests with the correct information especially in regards to shuttle services, we do appreciate the feedback you provide us as it allows us to develop our team.
I would like to advise you that we have implemented free WiFi for our guests and we will be introducing full platinum service for Foxtel once the hotels refurbishment is completed in October 2014.
I would encourage you back to the hotel in the near future, please contact me directly for any future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by our friends as good inexpensive stay in Melbourne. We took sky bus service from the airport with hotel drop off at the front door, very convenient. (18$ for 1 way, 30$ for return).

Upon check-in, we found the lobby staffs to be very nice and helpful. This excellent services was experienced throughout our 5 nights at the hotel. Not one negative encounter. Everything we needed was provided with enthusiasm and big smiles. They are eager to provide us with all the information we need to enjoy Melbourne.

The hotel is very nice and clean. We stayed in room 504 which is the pink floor. Amenity is good quality. If we must find a negative, it was the bed was not no comfy, but we slept fine. The blinds is also either open or completely closed. It would be nice if we have a thin blinds for some light to enter the room and a little privacy, but this is nit-picking.

Location wise, a lot of food, coffee shops and some shopping is right outside the hotel. Queen Victoria Market is just next door. Several Malaysian restaurants is to the right of the hotel. Several nice Korean BBQ is a bit further to the left across from QVM. There is also a 24hrs McDonalds at the corner to the left and 7/11 to the right where you can get the Myki cards. Small supermarket is across the street and Asian supermarket is just a short walk.

Tram is advertised as being in front of the hotel, which is not. It is about 300m away which is still very convenient. It will take you down to Flinder Street and stop along the major shopping area.

Very good experience for our longer than expected stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Room facing the street can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangkokNegotiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Bangkok Negotiation,

It is great to hear that your friends had recommended the Jasper Hotel to you for your accommodation stay.
With the many hotels to choose from when traveling to Melbourne we do appreciate you giving us an opportunity to share our hotel with you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Thank you for the feedback you have provided is invaluable to us as it helps us develop & improve service not to mention its assist other travellers when they are making the tough choice of where to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Jasper Hotel is located right next to the Victoria Markets, and a couple of blocks walk from the free City Circle tram stop. The room was simple, but clean, and overlooked the Markets. Although previous reviews have mentioned the lack of wifi, this has now been rectified. We got a code (linked to our room) and logged on in the evenings. I believe there is a limit to the amount of wifi each room gets, but we never ran out. The receptionists were friendly and helpful, and the bathroom toiletries were lovely Australian plant-based products. We would stay there again, as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Rach,

It is great to hear your impressions of the Jasper Hotel from your recent stay. We agree with you the Jasper Hotel has a great location that is central to all major attractions and destinations Melbourne has to offer. And now with the introduction of unlimited Wifi for our guests why would you want to stay want anywhere else.
We look forward to welcoming both you and your guest back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

my wife and I got to the hotel about 1:30 am. was not sure we could get in the hotel. no lights and the door wouldnot open. then I found the busser. the room was clean. a little small, but it worked. the staff were helpful and nice. the location was great. Victoria market next to the hotel. the night market had everything you would want eat. a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiremanKnoxville_tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear TiremanKnoxville,

Thank you for posing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to here you found our buzzer so we were able to check you in.
The hotels front doors are locked from entry at night as a security precaution; i will look at further signage for the doors to direct guests to the intercom post renovation.
It is great to here overall you had a great stay, come visit us again when you travel back to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,409 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
434 reviews
Central Business District
The Jazz Corner Hotel
The Jazz Corner Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £65 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing