We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Central, Clean and Friendly”
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #72 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the Jasper recently on a 'footy weekend' in Melbourne, from Perth. Chose this hotel because of great 'Renovation' deal and positive comments on Trip Advisor. As we were mostly going to be out of the hotel during the day I didn't foresee the renovation noise as a problem - and it wasn't. The location is fabulous: right alongside the Queen Victoria markets and right next door to a 24h McDonalds. Trams are close by and relatively easy to use. Hotel is easy to get to from the Airport using the SkyBus with the Shuttle connection to Hotel. All the Reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful - customer service excellence! I'll be back! (But no doubt it will be more expensive once the renovations are complete!)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a great view over the markets and probably quieter than those facing Elizabet...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terriPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the renovations didn’t hinder you in any way. I agree our location is fantastic and our staff are the best!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Jasper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

stayed on the 2 nd August as it was the only place left we could find . We read the reviews and knew there was construction and yes when we arrived the place was a bit of a mess but that was downstairs not in the rooms the staff were fantastic best we have experienced so we will definitely be back to try again

Stayed: August 2014
Thank pammyMorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Pammy,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We love hearing from our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose to stay with us again!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

even though the construction was abit annoying but the customer service was really good, the Korean Girl who does the night shift called Renee, her attitude towards problems with our room was very good. she apologized and did everything she could to fix it, but I understand it was her fault.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review of Jasper Hotel.

I’m glad to hear our customer service exceeded your expectations. Renee is a valued employee of ours as are all our staff, it’s fantastic to hear she solved your issue for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location wise is great, right at the cbd area, next to Victoria market .. a lot of nice restaurant around.. if looking for budget foods, there is Asian,Mcd,subway nearby .. room wise is acceptable but due to renovation on progress,lift is slow and onli 1 is functioning.. there is one day room service didn't finish the jobs..luckily onli 1of d day.. reception desk is very helpful ..thanks to u all for the info..overall I did enjoy the stays there..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzy2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the renovations did not disturb you too much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, whether it is before or after renovations are complete in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Jasper for 6 nights. The staff were most helpful and friendly and very accommodating. The location was great, right next door to the amazing queen victoria markets along with a tram stop to take you straight down to bourke street or further.

The room was very clean, however quite noisy. I had a room which looked out onto elizabeth street and at night it was noisy. I slept with earplugs for the duration of my stay. A couple of nights i had noisy people in the room next to me and the noise came straight through the walls which was a bit disruptive.

I booked this hotel for the renovation special price, which was great. The renovations caused no disruption to me.

I would be happy to stay here again, however would be disappointed if i had to pay the full room rate due to the noise issue, tv reception and limited channels, paint work could have used a freshen up and also i felt the room had enough space for a comfy day chair to relax in and was missing one.

I look forward to visiting again one day and checking out the renovation changes.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingkiwiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Jasper Hotel. Your comments inspire us to see opportunities to serve you better, through innovation resulting in a quality outcome.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and overall you were consistently happy with the hotel features and facilities. All Televisions in guest rooms will be upgraded during refurbishments along with an overall refreshing of the existing rooms.

Once again I would like to thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is being renovated, and although I stayed over the weekend, the builders worked Saturday. The lift and access area were very dusty. Despite the sterling efforts of the reception staff (one guy in particular whose name I didn't get) the general amenity and lack of facilities gave a bad impression.There was a lot of street noise too.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations are completed in October.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Judy,

Thank you for your review of Jasper Hotel. We love receiving guest’s feedback as we take it all on board.

I am sorry to hear that the renovations impacted on your stay. We do our best to inform all guests whether booking online or on the phone of renovations which are 7 days a week during business hours. I understand it can be an inconvenience sometimes which is why rooms are sold at such an amazing room rate.

In regards to street noise, I have noted your preference for a quieter room on the Queen Victoria Market side of the hotel for future stays, some of our guests find this side to be quieter.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel after renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Major reno's going on. Booked this ages ago and weren't contacted. Arrived asked for one room to have 2 singles in got a queen but they managed to get a foldaway. Room was next to stairwell which was very noisy and dirty. Staff friendly great location but certainly not 4 star and would struggle for 3 at this stage. No arm chairs in the delux rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Annie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay with us at the hotel. I’m sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay.
The hotel contacted existing reservations to notify guests of the renovation. We did come across hurdles when we were not provided contact information for guests by third party booking agents however all agents and booking sources had been notified and requested to notify our guests. The hurdle we faced was due to current privacy laws which is why social media played an important part of the hotels renovation strategy.
I apologise your bedding was not as per your booking also and will follow up with our Front Office team and Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure they are following the correct procedures. Hopefully the reduced room rate for the renovation special was something that brightened your stay with us.

I hope that your next visit to Melbourne will include staying with us in the newly renovated hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#106 of 160 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,211 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £64 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing