We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gratitude to your excellent hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Due to the #MH17 disaster our stay in Melbourne turned into a very difficult period. There is no way to express my gratitude to the way your staff and especially Mr Rob took care of us and made it possible to deal with the unexpected challenges we faced during our stay. Thank you!
As for the hotel itself, it is great. Perfect central location, good rooms, no complaints about the bathroom what so ever, breakfast was good, and most important to me personally: good strong espresso’s available.
Two minor points might be: you can’t open a window in your bedroom, it is all air-conditioning, and secondly the quality of the Wifi connection. But as I experienced a bit later, seems to be normal in Melbourne hotels.
On the whole, all I can say is: yes go there, it is a wonderful hotel with a great staff.
And once more to your staff and Mr Rob: Thank you for all the help, the warm and wonderful support and superb service you provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GasterNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear GasterNL,

Thank you for your gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments about Rob will be shared with him and the team as this boasts them to continue to strive for service excellence in all their dealing with our valued guests.

Once again, our heartful condolences for your loss.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,283 - 4,289 of 5,532 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Rendezvous Grand in Melbourne is a beautiful old building that has so much character. When arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff behind the Reception desk.

We checked in and were directed to our room. The elevators need you to use your key to allow access to your floor, but it was kind of strange since you could easily access the floors via the open staircase, so it seemed that the security access for the elevators was a bit unnecessary.

The rooms are small.... There is no other way to describe them, however they are perfectly functional. The room had a Queen size bed, a desk and mini bar area and that is pretty much all that fits. The bathrooms are also a bit tight and probably need a little bit of TLC. The promise of windows that open were short lived as it wasn't possible to actually open the windows. Always such a shame that hotels block this out as fresh air is so much nicer than air conditioning.

Pillows are always an issue in hotels. For some reason hotels like to provide soft pillows that offer no support. The Rendezvous Grand is no different as the pillows were much too soft but this is the only criticism I have of my stay.

The hotel is in a good location being on Flinders Street. It is an easy walk to get to the Arts Centre as well as the centre of the CBD.

Overall it is a nice hotel as long as you are not expecting to luxuriate in a big room. I would definitely stay there again if I am only visiting Melbourne for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. Please do note that we do have a pillow menu with choice of pillows to suit you the best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The room was so small it was disappointing and spoiled our weekend. The bathroom was so small I had to leave the room to bend over and dry my feet.
Not a great experience. The location was good. Unfortunately this hotel was not on par with other Rendevous hotels we had stayed at in other cities.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Terry C,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We agree that some room layouts are smaller than others, and being over 100 years old and heritage listed, we have a large variety of room configurations available. We have attempted to ensure that the layout of rooms are in the most practical and comfortable layout possible whilst ensuring we provide the amenities our guests require.

Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Upon arrival to the hotel it immediately felt like it had potential in either direction, as there was a bit of an old school feel and certain maintenance works slowly taking place in parts of the lobby (columns being patched and painted)...

However, the front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly which began to give me confidence that the stay was going to be good.

Whilst the lifts were quite old i was pleasantly surprised to see a refurbished feeling hallway that led me into my very tidy and comfortable room. In which the bed was exceptionally comfortable, the space was good, nice options in the mini bar and the bathroom - immaculate.

The only downside really was the internet - the "free internet" was far from 256k, it was more like 2.56k and was a waste of time, forcing me to purchase the highspeed option for $15 for 24hrs. However, if you're someone who has hotel breakfasts, then grab the breakfast + highspeed "deal".

Location wise, it was exceptionally handy. A tram stop was 1min up the road, as was a train station. The CBD was around the corner, so walking was ideal. And the very modern southbank area by the casino, which was literally over the river, was so close and handy, i felt like i had everything i needed so close.

Great overall experience. Will make this hotel a primary consideration next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Matt T,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the historical Rendezvous Grand. Our room overlooked the the tallest building in the southern hemisphere and at night it was beautiful. The morning buffet was very nice and and plentiful. The staff were all so warm and cheerful. The renovations of the historical building are beautiful and well done. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had a small room but we spent most of our time out side the room, walking and touring the city, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corvette63lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Corvette63lady,

Thank you for your gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Got off to rocky start given keys to unmade room. On return to reception all sorted quickly with apologies. New room clean, well presented. Bed comfy, bathroom small but has all you need and is clean. Quiet room no street noise, overall good experience. Very close to everything. Only down side very poor phone and internet reception in room, ok in lounge, bar and reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lyn23231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lyn23231,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

I am also pleased to read that we were able to resolve the check-in issue to your utmost satisfaction promptly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A romantic evening for two. Great room, food and service. My husband and I celebrated our 25 anniversary. We ate dinner and the food was yummy. The wait staff were very attentive. This spectacular hotel is steeped in history and beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Tracey L,

Thank you for your choosing us to celebrate your special occasion and we are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
834 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,726 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing