We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly situated, friendly staff, good experience. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #65 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated, friendly staff, good experience. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Requested a river view room and staff were extremely obliging, stayed in a modern room. Rooms are small but have everything needed. A short walk to conference center, Southbank and across the road from the station and trams. Everyone working in this hotel is friendly and goes out of their way to help. An enjoyable experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AfricanQueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear AfricanQueen67,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    1,781
    771
    264
    148
See reviews for
543
1,817
349
1,056
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Extremely dissappointed by our stay. Very loud and doors banging. Had a terrible stay and would definately not recommend anyone staying here. After contacting the hotel to express my displeasure, I didnt even recieve a response! Clearly states to me they do not value there customers!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobn303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jacob N,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are dismayed to learn of your overall disappointing stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for our obvious shortcomings and the regrettable inconvenience caused. I fully agree with you that we could have handled the issues with better profession so as to ensure that your stay was excellent as we always strive for. We assure you that this is certainly a deviation from our norm and can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our second stay here and this time we stayed in a heritage room...It was a lovely room with high ceilings and led light windows...
Again the service from the staff was friendly and welcoming...
We'll be back...

Room Tip: The standard room are comfortable but a bit small so I'd recommend the heratige rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Chris J,

Thank you for your continued patronage and gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel, the rooms were a little bit small but the value for money was top rate.

The staff were really friendly, and although the wifi was a bit slow.. it was free so its a bit hard to complain about that!

The bed wasn't the best I've ever slept in, but certainly wasn't the worst.. and the room was very modern and right in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank afbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear afbau,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Please also do note that apart from the complimentary Wi-Fi offered to all our guests, we do also offer premium internet access at a small cost with a higher connection speed for your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsw
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is great - except don't order food from room service
I ordered a simple plate of nachos - it arrived totally over done in the microwave it was rock solid with a spoon of sour cream just spattered on the top - I needed a pick hammer to break through - needless to say I didn't eat much - I called room service for tray pick up at 8pm this morning at 7am when I went to go for a run the tray was still outside - upon check out I alerted staff of the issue to still be charged & after paying and checking out to leave they gave me a voucher to use in the bar - of which wasn't even open - I think perhaps they could of taken the $$$$ of for the crap food not a voucher

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Amanda202020,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the regrettable inconvenience and dissappointment caused to you. We have since reveiwed your feedback with our Executive Chef and have since taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur. We assure you that this is certainly a deviation from our norm and can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion.

Please also do note that after speaking with you on the day of your departure from the hotel, I have processed the refund for the value of the Room Service Meal to your credit card.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aust
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having stayed in the Rendevous in Adelaide previously I had expected a bit more from its Melbourne sister. The greeting was wonderful from Rob the doorman and the check in staff were efficient and friendly.

We stayed in a Heritage Room which was at the back of the property in a renovated part of the old 'Commercial Travellers Club'. The fit out was reasonably new but in a heritage style. The former billiards hall has been fitted out with a central corridor and numerous rooms. I would have thought that sound proofing would have been used but it appears not as you could hear people enter the hallway via the doors at the end of the hallway as soon as the doors opened and hear their conversations all the way down the hall way. In addition to this the air conditioner in the room cut in and out with some amount of noise every 20 minutes or so through the night. It was too stuffy and hot to have it off so we put up with the noise for our three night stay.
The location is good and handy to the Southbank and Casino precincts as well as CBD shopping. Valet parking is offered but is more expensive than most other Melbourne hotels I have stayed at.
A nice bar with good atmosphere on the ground floor.
Not sure that I would stay again.

Room Tip: Apparently the Heritage rooms are better. Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We found that this hotel was in the perfect position for us, so much so that we stayed there again on our next visit. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is a little older and as such not so modern, but its clean and the rooms are well equipped although they could be larger. Close to Flinder St station and easy walking distance of the casino made it our hotel of choice, tram stops outside and in two minutes you're in the famous lane ways and shopping district.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Paula G,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your most recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing