We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have been here before however, this visit was not up to standard. Our room was very, very small, the carpet filthy, the dust in the cupboard was so think we could write our name in it, housekeeping insisted they come into our room at 4.30pm because they forget to check the minibar from the day before, housekeeping took our bathrobes on day and didn't replace them, took our soap and didn't replace it....the list goes on. So not a good stay and won't stay next time we go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbjimsamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Barbjimsamjay,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

Please accept my sincere apologies for our obvious housekeeping shortcomings and the inconvenience caused and we can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion. We have since reviewed your feedback with the Department Head concerned and have taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur.

Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,451
    1,768
    768
    264
    148
See reviews for
540
1,802
347
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautifully appointed room even though purchased on a last minute deal - perfectly clean, lovely linen and all extras appreciated - perfect for a single traveller. Breakfast included and an excellent start to the days. Lovely olde world charm in bar and foyer areas - very keen to stay again when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Chose a superior queen room and very happy with the deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAH6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear SAH6311,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

fantastic first impression of Melbourne close to everything staff could not have been more helpful nothing to much trouble. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and my husbands 50th birthday and what a great place to do it. we were made to feel very special rooms were comfortable with all the things you need for a nice place to sleep had room service one night delicious had breakfast one morning delicious got to check out the pancake maker instant pancakes ready within minutes. loved our stay cant wait to go back. Ray & Selina

Room Tip: we had an inside room which over looked alley but that was fine because we had so much to do and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank selina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear selina k,

Thank you for your choosing us to celebrate your special occasion and gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Throughout our stay, we experienced bad customer service on several occasions from the staff. The attitude of the reception staff was dismal and they were condescending when we requested for a higher floor. Amenities and beverages were not replenished daily too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousfelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear curiousfelicious,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are dismayed to learn of your overall disappointing stay with us. It is never acceptable when a guest feels our staff are anything less than helpful and accommodating. We assure you that this is certainly a deviation from our norm and can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your comments and please be assured of our best efforts to continue to deserve your confidence in us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is stunning from the moment you walk through the door, the staff are so very friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous, food was divine and loved the atmosphere of the bar. We will defiantly be returning, perfect romantic get away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Renee S,

Thank you for your gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location was great and my room had a nice view over Flinders Street towards Southbank. The room was compact but I didn't mind this as I was on my own on a work trip. The staff were helpful and especially the concierge who helped me flag a taxi and put my bag in the boot. The bed was comfortable and the water was hot, so all the basics were there. I have paid much more and not had these basic things.

Room Tip: High level rooms for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Foodie1724,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On Flinders Street with easy and quick access to South Bank and the train station. Room was clean and comfortable, not much space but was only in the room long enough to sleep. Good coffee from inhouse cafe, but disappointed it wasn't open on the weekend before 10. We would stay again. View from window was a carpark, not attractive, but not in the room long enough to bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Gabi M,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We have also noted your comments about the restaurant buffet breakfast opening hours on the week days and asure you that the same would be considered in our yearly hotel review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
3,326 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
7,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing