We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Excellent Staff but Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at the Rendezvous for a week during a conference in July. The hotel is an easy and enjoyable walk from the convention center and close to the center of town. It has an old-world charm and amazing staff: the front desk was extremely helpful particularly when I needed some documents printed and faxed. The concierge desk is excellent - much thanks to Steve for helping our group arrange a fantastic drive up along the coast. But the hotel is dated, particularly when taken into account the cost. My room was clean, but very small even by NYC and Paris standards. There was about a foot and half of space surrounding my bed. The bathroom was the size of a closet - not to be too graphic but it was impossible to use the toilet without putting your feet in the shower. Others in our group had similar comments. One pair traveling together had a room with "two single beds" but the beds were only an inch apart. The gym and business center are equally small. I'd recommend the hotel for those who like amenities of a fully staffed hotel in a central location. But don't plan to spend time in your room. Also, the "free" wi fi was extremely slow, suitable for only very basic email.

Room Tip: Another option: about half way through our stay one person in our group moved to the Treasury House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you and your group had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you and the group.

We agree that some room layouts are smaller than others, and being over 100 years old and heritage listed, we have a large variety of room configurations available. We have attempted to ensure that the layout of rooms are in the most practical and comfortable layout possible whilst ensuring we provide the amenities our guests require.

Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

Also, do note that apart from the complimentary Wi-Fi offered to all our guests, we do also offer premium internet access at a small cost with a higher connection speed for your convenience.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments about Steve will be shared with him and the team as this boasts them to continue to strive for service excellence in all their dealing with our valued guests.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you and the group back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,253 - 4,259 of 5,532 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a great stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. Excellent location, pleasant staff, and beautiful modern rooms! The French concierge staff member was very charming and helpful. Classic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 711matthewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments about Mathieu will be shared with him and the team as this boasts them to continue to strive for service excellence in all their dealing with our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Location of the hotel was perfect for us as it was close to everything we wanted. The room was on the small side but we're only there to sleep. What made the weekend special was Rob the doorman, his love of life was infectious and he gave us some really great tips on where to eat and what to see.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Anne D,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments about Rob will be shared with him and the team as this boasts them to continue to strive for service excellence in all their dealing with our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have been here before however, this visit was not up to standard. Our room was very, very small, the carpet filthy, the dust in the cupboard was so think we could write our name in it, housekeeping insisted they come into our room at 4.30pm because they forget to check the minibar from the day before, housekeeping took our bathrobes on day and didn't replace them, took our soap and didn't replace it....the list goes on. So not a good stay and won't stay next time we go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbjimsamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Barbjimsamjay,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

Please accept my sincere apologies for our obvious housekeeping shortcomings and the inconvenience caused and we can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion. We have since reviewed your feedback with the Department Head concerned and have taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur.

Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautifully appointed room even though purchased on a last minute deal - perfectly clean, lovely linen and all extras appreciated - perfect for a single traveller. Breakfast included and an excellent start to the days. Lovely olde world charm in bar and foyer areas - very keen to stay again when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Chose a superior queen room and very happy with the deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAH6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear SAH6311,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

fantastic first impression of Melbourne close to everything staff could not have been more helpful nothing to much trouble. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and my husbands 50th birthday and what a great place to do it. we were made to feel very special rooms were comfortable with all the things you need for a nice place to sleep had room service one night delicious had breakfast one morning delicious got to check out the pancake maker instant pancakes ready within minutes. loved our stay cant wait to go back. Ray & Selina

Room Tip: we had an inside room which over looked alley but that was fine because we had so much to do and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank selina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear selina k,

Thank you for your choosing us to celebrate your special occasion and gracious comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Throughout our stay, we experienced bad customer service on several occasions from the staff. The attitude of the reception staff was dismal and they were condescending when we requested for a higher floor. Amenities and beverages were not replenished daily too.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousfelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear curiousfelicious,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are dismayed to learn of your overall disappointing stay with us. It is never acceptable when a guest feels our staff are anything less than helpful and accommodating. We assure you that this is certainly a deviation from our norm and can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your comments and please be assured of our best efforts to continue to deserve your confidence in us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
834 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,726 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing