We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Causeway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (375)
    Filter reviews
    375 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    152
    90
    42
    30
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    61
    152
    90
    42
    30
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdavid jonescollins streetbreakfast roomgreat locationlane waysbreakfast was includedgood sizecentral locationyour doorstepstaff were friendly and helpfulenjoyed my staytwin roomcbdcafesgymtransporttheatre
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    206 - 211 of 375 reviews
    Reviewed 1 March 2014

    Hotel has many problems that mainly stem from bad staff and that the hotel is in an inappropriate building. It's in an old apartment block by the looks of it - thin hallways, small rooms, old slugging lift and rooftop on building.

    The reception staff are very friendly and helpful actually, but the cleaning staff terrible. The rooms are downright filthy - clean at a visual surface level but dirty carpets, crockery not cleaned properly and dust everywhere. I dropped pastry all over my carpet eating and didn't even bother to pick it up as it didn't look out of place.

    The entire building is very hot, the lift especially which isn't helped by the smell of a restaurant throughout the building. I physically felt ill walking around in hot, stuffy hallways to the smell of food. Breakfast was included in the rate but it's a let down. Basic, uninspired continental breakfast, definitely not worth $18. Go to the David Jones food court across the street.

    Gym was almost unbearable to work out in as the AC was set to 23 degrees and locked in a plastic cupboard. The fact that there is a staff member that doesn't understand that 23 degrees is a "warm" feature on AC units and that the body is trying to cool itself down as you exercise and heat is generated..

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ladyfitch
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 February 2014

    I spent the weekend in Melbourne at the Hotel Causeway and was disappointed. The location was great as it was close to shopping and laneway cafes. The room was too hot as the air conditioning was not working. The bin had not been emptied from the last guest, there was mould on the shower floor and the skirting board was coming off the wall. The staff were very polite but I'm never going to stay here again. I had pre-booked this hotel for my next trip in May but once I got home, I cancelled the booking and have booked somewhere else.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Chrissy M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 February 2014

    We stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring Australia. The hotel entrance is situated in a precinct off Little Collins Street but is only a 30 second walk from the road. Check in was smooth. The room was adequate for our stay. The breakfast was also fine if not startling. All in all a mediocre hotel but in a superb location to explore the shops, restaurants, bars and sights of Melbourne.

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Rojo447
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 January 2014

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, albeit basic. The building is tired and needs painting and renovation. No channel 7 reception, so we couldn't watch the Aus Open tennis on TV. Also, a builder started hammering on the floor above our room from 7am onwards - when I complained (politely) the reception girl basically couldn't care less and fobbed us off with a "too bad" attitude. However, the two other service staff we encountered at other times were at least polite. Doubt I would stay there again.

    Room Tip: Ask first if there are builders working on site at the time of your stay.
    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Steven S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 January 2014

    Stayed there for the tennis last week, heatwave in Melbourne and no air condioning and very little T.V. They didn,t offer us a fan at all. The Breakfast room was very, very hot, with not even a fan in there, butter and margarine melting. No assistance at all. Would never ever stay there again or recomend it to anyone else. Chris M.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Christine M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews