We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Causeway
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
61
152
90
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
152
90
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid jonescollins streetbreakfast roomgreat locationlane waysbreakfast was includedgood sizecentral locationyour doorstepstaff were friendly and helpfulenjoyed my staytwin roomcbdcafesgymtransporttheatre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fantastic location, clean and tidy room very comfortable bed. The price was very reasonable and staff were always polite. We stayed on the third floor and were in a room with a king size bed and one single so it was quite spacious. The only downside is no bath, just a curtain shower blocking you from the rest of the toilet area, very Asian style bathroom. The water temp was a little hard to negotiate, it seemed either very hot or cool. But... for the price and location I would definitely return we were very happy!

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor and were in a room with a king size bed and one single so it was quite spacious. The only downside is no bath, just a curtain shower blocking you from the rest of the toilet area, very Asian style bathroom. The water temp was a little hard to negotiate, it seemed either very hot or cool. But... for the price and location I would definitely return!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a one night stay at the Hotel Causeway, it is in a great location, bang in the middle of Melbourne. I am split on this review as the hotel has some great points but also some not so great points too. We arrived early expecting to leave our bags but our room was ready which was a bonus. All the staff we encountered were lovely, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was included, it was well prepared and included fresh fruit, croissants, cereal etc and the coffee was good which is more than can be said for some bigger named hotels. In our room, we had complementary chocolate macadamias, apples, water and Sunday morning newspaper. There was a safe, bathrobes and slippers and the mini bar was reasonably priced.
However...there was no attention to detail..the curtains were hanging off the rails, a lack of pictures on the walls, the bathroom door was dirty, there was so much mould around the bath we didnt want to use it! The breakfast room had been renovated but there were many stains on the seating which just needed a good clean. If these issues were addressed it would be the perfect little city getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2muchfinefoodandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our room was on the 4th floor and was nice and quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The safe worked perfectly, as did the air conditioning. The (included) breakfasts were more than adequate and it was good to have access to the excellent coffee machine at all hours.
All the staff were helpful and friendly. We loved being SO central. We stayed for six nights and would happily return on our next visit to Melbourne.

Room Tip: The lift makes a peculiar noise when it stops but once we realised what the noise was, it was not a problem. Maybe ask for a room away from the lift if you think it is going to bother you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurrayLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel starts out well as it couldn't have a better location if it tried. It is well placed in a lane way, with close access to transport and restaurants and shops. In short, it is in the heart of Melbourne and for that reason alone is worth considering.

In terms of room presentation it shows wear and tear. On the door of my bathroom was an imprint of a beer bottle which speaks of a rowdy night past. It would be good to see this repaired as it gave the sense the place incites violent parties.

The cleaning of the room was substandard. Several things were left uncleaned two days in a row that being the floor with evident of bits of tissue and foil left untouched and smear marks on the table left un wiped.

Breakfast was not worth $18. Minute pieces of cubed cheese and strawberries cut into 6 pieces seem a bit on parsimonious side. There are better options in the lane ways so save this money and go else where for breakfast.

Importantly, do not get a room near the lift well or on the inner courtyard. This will bring unwanted noise. When I spoke to the front desk about it and asked for another room no options were provided.

On a final note, I think this hotel has good bones but needs a bit of care and attention. As I said, the location couldn't be any better.

Room Tip: Yes if you want peace and quiet, make it known!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is a PERFECT location for the city center, if you want to be in town, this is your hotel. Great staff always helpful, always available. Unfortunately the rooms are really old, there was mold everywhere, I mean everywhere in the bathroom, even on the ceiling, carpeing was old and sticky, tacky feeling...you cant complain about the views because you are in the center of town surrounded by buildings but Melboune is so exciting who wants to stay in the room. Price was not good or bad, about the going rate which is really expensive, as is everything in Austrailia. But this hotel is all about location location location.....we had breakfast included, if you have traveled Europe at all then breakfast is standard if not it will be different then you expect in the US. Our room was right next to the elevator which made a loud awful noise anytime anyone on any floor used it....we asked to be moved, when we told them why all the staff laughed and said oh yeah, but said they might be able to for our last night......so all in all...good service....great locaton....ok price.....not so nice room(no free internet either).

Room Tip: stay away from any room at the end where the elevator is
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews