We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place that is let down by a lack of security”
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place that is let down by a lack of security”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel and could not sleep due to partying above my room. There was no security to call and I felt as though it was safe for me to leave the room and confront the people making the noise. In the morning, reception told me there is no security. This is not good and seems to suggest that the hotel for as cheap as possible

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jynmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Jynmac,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with Quest Gordon Place. We do have an on-site Night Manager who is available for guests to phone after hours however please be assured that I will certainly pass on your comments regarding security to the Manager. We would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further, please feel free to contact our Client Relationship manager Sandi Gemmell via email at sgemmell@questapartments.com.au and advise a suitable time for us to contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    216
    131
    87
    66
See reviews for
120
204
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great location in china town. Spacious apartment with full kitchen dining and lounge. Opening french doors provided some crisp melbourne air. Friendly and helpful staff . Would be good in summer with outdoor pool in the heart of Melbourne. Book early for best deal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that there were many highlights during your stay.. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Gordon Place in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here for a few weeks while I was working away from home. Hass, John & Nirav were 3 of the friendliest staff members I have dealt with. Always greeting me and always willing to help with any queries I had. The rooms are clean and fresh. Good central location in the city close to all public transport etc

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyarc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear joeyarc10,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review of your stay with us. Providing our valued guests with excellent service is always our top priority and I will be sure to forward your wonderful feedback on to our fantastic front office team.
If there is anything that we can be of assistance with in future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It was a pleasure to have you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We have stayed at Gordon Place , when in Melbourne for over thirty tears. Over time different chains have had it. It is a National Trust building, so is very old. The rooms are being re-furbished at the moment...they really need it as they are very "used". We were upgraded to a suite on this trip, and that was much appreciated. Gordon Place is very close to a lot of very good resturaunts in the"top end of town" Studio rooms are very small, but we find they are adequate

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Pinehart,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Quest Gordon Place. It is very rewarding to have such loyal guests coming back time and time again and go through all the changes with us. As you stated before, we are moving through the process of refurbishing this property - last month we have completed re-painting all of the apartments. Our next step is new furnishings.
It has been a long process for us but we are excited and certainly believe this property is moving in the right direction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Gordon Place again very soon.
Do feel free to contact us prior to your next arrival if you prefer a certain room type or location within the property and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Quest Gordon was interesting old building and lovely layout of courtyards with pool in one of them. Cafe was located in hotel. Quiet location but close to Princess Theatre and Chinatown. Free city tram and free city bus nearby. The two bedroom apartment was spacious and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 43 which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Viola,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Quest Gordon Place. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here recently for a weekend in a one bedroom apartment away from the street. The best thing about the apartments is the building, being a renovated apartment building from the 19th century with a central courtyard and great original features.
The apartment was spacious and quiet but a little worn in some areas, the kitchen is well set up with appliances but then hardly any kitchenware is supplied. Internet up to 300mb/day is available by cable but not wi-fi.
The location is great, being at one end of Little Bourke St so close to some great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if you want a sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavesBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Charming architecture, full of history and great location. Service over Easter was non-existent and state of room was really poor. Carpet was feral and state of bathroom left a lot to be desired. Sauna wasn't working properly and gym facilities do not constitute a gym. Location and look of building only saving grace. Very creaky floors above and below - do don't expect a quiet and tranquil place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Elinor B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Quest Gordon Place. I apologise that your experience did not live up to your expectations and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact our Client Relations Manager on (03 9663 2888) or by email sgemmell@questapartments.com.au so that we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#124 of 160 in Melbourne
358 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,672 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
873 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Property: Quest Gordon Place
Address: 24 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing