We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand old Victorian charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grand old Victorian charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had a very comfortable and restful stay in this beautiful hotel with a grand bedroom and lovely clean bathroom. I loved the old stately architecture reminiscent of my childhood home. Breakfast was great as it was non fuss in a cosy little dining room. The location is perfect to embrace the charm of Melbourne with the trams outside in the street and the Tan down the road for a morning walk plus the Botanical gardens. Good restaurant and great coffee are just a short walk down the road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you picked up on our home away from home feel and enjoyed our location, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice- once on my own in December 2011 and again with my husband in November 2012. The hotel is very relaxed and informal with a happiness-making feel from the great decor and beautiful, super clean bathrooms . We both travel a great deal for business and this was decidedly not a business hotel, something we both enjoyed very much. The distance by tram from the city centre is short but also makes it seem like you have seen more of the city than you might if you stayed in the city centre.
The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because when I was there the first time I overheard staff members talking about the possibility that the hotel might close if the owners didn't pay closer attention to upkeep, and it did not feel like things were clearly explained at check-in. For instance, I had to ask about breakfast and I had to ask about getting a tram pass. I did not have a sense of that during my second visit almost a year later although things seemed slightly more rundown than the year before. Still, it's a popular hotel in a wonderful city and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartecerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you have chosen us again for our relaxed and personal vibe. We do try our best to insure the comfort of your stay.
In regards to the up keep of the hotel during your first stay we had just finished completely painting each room of the hotel- so it would have looked pristine! And, as a century old building with many original features maintenance is a constant issue we are always doing our best to stay abreast of. I am saddened you overheard some gossip and unfortunately as with all businesses rumors can circulate and this rumor is certainly not true and staff have been informed.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights as a couple exploring Melbourne. Hotel is located in suburban road, surrounded by mostly modernised Victorian / Edwardian houses, and fits in well. It's about 10 mins tram ride into Melbourne centre, and 5 mins tram ride into the trendy suburbs of South Yarra & Tourak. Tram stops are literally outside the door, making it a great place from which to explore Melbourne, if you want to see more than just the centre. Staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean, with it's own small kitchenette, in addition to good sized bathroom. Furniture quirky. Breakfast (continental only) was good quality, without being particularly extensive. Roof terrace is good area to sit in evening sun with glass of wine. Much more personal than most big city hotels.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay taking full advantage of our tram system and location. The now revived roofdeck area is lovely on a balmy night with a glass of wine so we are pleased you also enjoyed this area of the Hotel, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay two nights in Hatton. One was enough. Check in was very unpolite, like visitors are not wellcome. He asked just a credit card and told what we cant do. Carrying luggages to room, where wifi didn't work and air condition dropped quite a lot water to floor all the time was the last drop. Sorry to say but we got feeling they are closing the whole hotel. At least it woul need quite a lot of upgrading with service attitude and cleaness.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have a maintenance schedule for all our appliances and technology however at times things do breakdown and require action. The air conditioner has now been repaired and the wifi which we have recently upgraded has had teething problems and we are doing our very best to correct these issues. For this we sincerely apologise.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Hatton is, I guess, an old private residence, converted to a small private hotel. If you like small and quirky, rather than 5-star glitz, then this is the place for you ... and us! So many different people on reception/bar duty, but all really friendly and helpful. Once you've schlepped your cases up and down innumerable stairs, the bedroom is fine ... pretty much what you'd expect, but spacious and clean. Terriffic location .... this part of the City boasts fabulous Art Deco properties and appears an affluent area. A tram stops right outside the hotel to get you quickly into the centre, or a short walk the other way gets you a tram to the beach. Also lots of good reataurants nearby. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you're 'elderly', try to get a room which doesn't involve too many stairs to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Yes we are a little different and we appreciate that you found that difference to your liking.
The Hotel itself was actually built as a hotel back in 1901, and the owners endeavored to keep as much of the original building as possible - thus the stairs. We are pleased you took advantage of the location which out of curiosity was in fact the outskirts of town back in 1901, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Royce Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#85 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing