We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building in central location”
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #125 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First impression is what a stunning building. I checked in and walked up the grand staircase and down the wide hallway to my room and was so pleasantly surprised by the spacious room with lovely old polished floor boards, modern and understated decor, and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and amenities perfect for the business traveller, the rates are very reasonable and restaurants in walking distance. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review.
We pride ourselves on the number of return guests so would be happy to have you back!
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

first the positive: we spent five nights there in August and we loved the building, the location, the room and bathroom decor, the bedding, we even did not mind the stairs (we stayed in a downstairs room). And of course we loved the FREE WI-Fi, a rarity in Australia.
And now for the less positive: breakfast is plenty and generally really good, the staff make you endless cups of whatever coffee you want etc. My only complaints? The pastries were ancient. I paid attention and the same tray of pastries was put out on the buffet for at least three days in a row. By the day we left, it started to look really bad. One day the yogurt was sour and another day the milk, so that one of us ended up not feeling too well. These are small but important details that can make a huge difference for a traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but saddened there were aspects you did not enjoy.
Regarding the breakfast we receive our bread and pastries fresh every morning from Amici's bakery in chapel st. Staff never put out the same pastries three days in a row as they are replenished daily. This aside though we will obviously look into our procedure to reduce any human error that might occur, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Melbourne and thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we stayed at The Hatton. Our room #10 was large as was the ensuite and there was plenty of storage space available. While we didn't make full use of it the microwave, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were an added bonus.

The food on offer for breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful.

The location was excellent and while there was a tram stop at the door we walked into the CBD at a leisurely pace in about half an hour.

All staff were friendly and helpful and up for a chat.

We had a memorable stay at The Hatton and have already planned our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank four_maccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location and enjoyed chatting with staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

5th visit to the Hatton and as always we found it to be a very welcoming. We had a late flight and did not check in until around midnight, staff were quick to let us in and let us get settled.
Can't really fault it, yes it has some quirks but that is why we keep going back.
Clean rooms, great beds and bathrooms with plenty of privacy if you want it.
Location is great, trams stop right out front with an easy 10 minute ride into the city. Stacks of geat places to eat and drink within easy walking distance. (Chapel St, Toorak Rd)
Breakfast is plentiful with good coffee. Ipad, magazines and newspapers are available in the dining room/bar.
A great alternative to staying right in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaMaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you are now regular guests and we pride ourselves on the fact that much of our business is return customers. We are also pleased you have picked up on our unique attributes and our great location.
Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had a very comfortable and restful stay in this beautiful hotel with a grand bedroom and lovely clean bathroom. I loved the old stately architecture reminiscent of my childhood home. Breakfast was great as it was non fuss in a cosy little dining room. The location is perfect to embrace the charm of Melbourne with the trams outside in the street and the Tan down the road for a morning walk plus the Botanical gardens. Good restaurant and great coffee are just a short walk down the road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you picked up on our home away from home feel and enjoyed our location, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice- once on my own in December 2011 and again with my husband in November 2012. The hotel is very relaxed and informal with a happiness-making feel from the great decor and beautiful, super clean bathrooms . We both travel a great deal for business and this was decidedly not a business hotel, something we both enjoyed very much. The distance by tram from the city centre is short but also makes it seem like you have seen more of the city than you might if you stayed in the city centre.
The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because when I was there the first time I overheard staff members talking about the possibility that the hotel might close if the owners didn't pay closer attention to upkeep, and it did not feel like things were clearly explained at check-in. For instance, I had to ask about breakfast and I had to ask about getting a tram pass. I did not have a sense of that during my second visit almost a year later although things seemed slightly more rundown than the year before. Still, it's a popular hotel in a wonderful city and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tartecerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you have chosen us again for our relaxed and personal vibe. We do try our best to insure the comfort of your stay.
In regards to the up keep of the hotel during your first stay we had just finished completely painting each room of the hotel- so it would have looked pristine! And, as a century old building with many original features maintenance is a constant issue we are always doing our best to stay abreast of. I am saddened you overheard some gossip and unfortunately as with all businesses rumors can circulate and this rumor is certainly not true and staff have been informed.
Thanks again and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deerleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Quest Flemington
#62 of 161 in Melbourne
333 reviews
Glenferrie Hotel
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
124 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £102 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing