We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect Melbourne experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The perfect Melbourne experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This beautiful boutique hotel ticked every box for a wonderful Melbourne experience. The staff were welcoming and very knowledgable and helpful. The room was simple and stylish and very quiet and relaxing. The location is perfect with a tram right outside, although we chose to walk everywhere and loved every experience. The cosy and intimate private bar was just the icing on the cake. Thankyou for a truly wonderful Melbourne experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LG2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It is difficult in these days of globalisation to distinguish yourself as a business and we try very hard to provide guests with an experience that shows off Melbourne in its best light. We are very pleased that this was a successful and memorable trip for you and that Melbourne was a highlight of it, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel is at South Yarra, very close to city. Tram stop is in front of hotel, South Yarra train station is just 10 minutes walk. Room rate include simple, healthy breakfast with good brew coffee. Room is cozy, spacious with dining table and small courtyard. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our location, just out of the hustle and bustle of the cbd, but only a short tram ride to it should you wish. Very happy to that you appreciated our breakfast and the coffee, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Up to 5 years ago I stayed at the Hatton a lot. Then trips to Melbourne fell away, so it was with some anticipation I returned last week. It was a favourite of mine - small, friendly, homely. Nothing pretentious, but everything needed is supplied. Happily, nothing has changed in 5 years. Maybe some staff, and the linen, and the cups and saucers.....it was again a delight. Room, spacious, with a small external courtyard. Bathroom, with bath! Nice. Internet, free. Breakfast, healthy, free, newspapers supplied, fruit, friendly staff to make a coffee, nice little breakfast room with atmosphere.......there's a nifty wine list of boutique wines, lots of knowledge of the arty happenings in Melbourne, all good things. Literally around the corner are a couple of very nice brasseries, and the Melbourne tram is outside for a quick trip to the City. Oh, and the Botanical Gardens are next door. How good is that? And the rates are great. If you want predictable city hotels, you already know where to book. If you want comfort, value, fun, handy and feel good, book here. You will not be disappointed. I never have been.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs rooms with courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philscottgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your positive words.
We make a special effort for all our guests but nothing pleases us more than being able to retain a regular guest! We are so pleased you appreciate our point of difference.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

great staff, large rooms, close to everything we needed. not so big that you feel like an ant, not so small you feel in the way. we stayed for the anzac long weekend to attend the dawn service and walked there from the hotel. the superior room had a small kitchenette service as well, which made it even more appealing for a few more days. definitely worth booking again for future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
I trust the Dawn service was memorable.
Our size is unique with our 20 rooms for accommodation, we find this allows us to get to know our guests well enough to allow a personalised service without being intrusive, thank you again, perhaps we'll see you same time next year! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at the Hatton on numerous trips and won't stay anywhere else!
It's central location make it an attractive place to stay - walking distance to town, Toorak and of course my morning exercise on the Tan.
Great cafes nearby, terrific breakfast included and wonderful rooms.
Staff are always friendly and accommodating.
I can't recommend The Hatton highly enough - and thank goodness I found it years ago!

Room Tip: I usually request Room 16 - I stay here solo in a King bed on business or sometimes share with a fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We pride ourselves on the number of return regular guests who find the hotel so hospitable so feedback from you our 'regulars' is always a wonderful thing, thanks again and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights while doing meetings in and around Melbourne. I utilised the free parking so I could travel by car out of the city, and caught the tram, which stops immediately outside the hotel, to get to the CBD. Staff were very helpful, room was very clean, but a bit small. Very close to the botanic gardens for morning/evenings walking/running.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harbourbridgetopumpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments.
We are pleased you took advantage of our unique location and that it suited your purposes well.
It sounds like you were booked into one of our standard rooms which are cosier so if you do like to spread out a superior room might be the one to go for next time- hope to welcome you back, Happy Travels in the meantime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night. Huge old guest house close to gardens, bit far from cbd for some but tram right past door. Easy reception welcome and check in. Room very big, furniture inconsistent in type, some modern fittings then an old coffee cup stained sideboard. Comfortable bed and pillows. Ensuite down some stairs and bath not easy to get in so wouldnt recommend this room for older guests. Continental breakfast nice with cereals, muesli, fruit, yoghurt and pastries, toast and real coffee too. Parking difficult so ring and ask hotel what spots they have free.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Yes it is true we are not within the cbd but in a residential area close to the botanic gardens. We are housed in an old building by Australian standards and some of the rooms are laid out in an unusual fashion as we have tried to keep as many old features as possible. Thank you again and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Royce Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#85 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing