We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a Melbourne visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #51 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great spot for a Melbourne visit”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently spent four nights here on a visit to Melbourne after considering higher end CBD accommodation and we are so pleased we did. The reception we received from the moment we arrived was friendly and efficient and our room was immediately available. The room was clean and the kitchenette a bonus. It was spacious and light and the couch gave extra seating room which was welcome. The bathroom was clean and the towels thick and soft - yes it is not huge and marble etc but perfectly well appointed for our needs for a 4 day visit. The best think is the proximity to the CBD, Southbank restaurants, South Melbourne markets etc... We were able to walk to many places, using taxis only a few times and then public transport which is on the doorstep almost. Didn't have breakfast here as too many other option beckon in the area. The questions we had for the desk staff including the very pleasant trainee were answered with a smile and nothing was a bother - have not always found this to be so in 'higher end properties'. We will definitely use this hotel again on our next visit to Melbourne...can shop return the goodies and go again it is so close to the shopping!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahbC3444RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear tfamilytravellers,

Thanks for taking the time to provide such a glowing review of the hotel and our fantastic location

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    2,659
    671
    150
    63
See reviews for
1,015
2,282
456
1,008
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We had booked a room through a tour agency as part of a tour group travelling around melbourne. We are delighted with the hotel and its close proximity to the main town area. Most attractions and shopping areas are within walking distance to the hotel.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, warm and helpful. This made the stay at the hotel comfortable and pleasent.

The rooms were a bit small and the bathrooms probably may need to be refurbished as the tiles and fittings seemed old and faded. However, the rooms were warm, comfotable and cozy to stay in.

There were, however, two negative experiences with my stay at the hotel. The first experience was that the heating element within the electrical kettle provided was rusted. This added on to the fact that the watter from the kitchen sink was slightly cloudy and yellowish. The water appearance may have been due to the lighting in the room or the tap may not have run for a period of time. To solve this problem, I had to travel to the nearby supermarket to buy bottled water for consumption. ( Note: Coles supermarket along Elizabeth Street opens from 6am to 1am)

The second negative experience was the beds provided. We had requested for a triple sharing room. The beds provided were 2 single bed and a pulled out sofa bed. When I had tried to rest on the sofa bed, I fell through. Looking under the mattress, the support that was supposed to hold the mattress was missing. We then took pictures and presented them to the front desk staff. The staff quickly resovled the situation by providing us with a roll away bed instead. Even though there was an additional bed in the room, the damaged sofa bed was folded up and left in the corner, which made the room and even tighter squeeze. I would assume that all furniture should have been maintained and checked on a regular basis.

Despite these negative experiences, the stay was pleasent overall.

Paul C.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Paul C,


The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I was disappointed 2 issues disrupted your stay, however I'm glad the team were able to rectify and you were able to still enjoy your stay

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I can only re-iterate what most reviewers have already said about this hotel. The room was clean, large, bright and had all the necessities I required. As many others have said, this is not a 5* hotel, so don't expect it. But of course it was not a 5* price either!! In fact, the price I paid for a Friday night was better than most 3* hotels on the same night.

The location of the hotel is ideal to explore both Melbourne city and Southbank areas. Eureka building was right next door and the casino was less than 100 meters away. Flinders St station, Federation Square and Melbourne city center, are all easily walked to from the hotel.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Navy35,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrabool
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby. I really liked it a lot. First of all, remember it is not 5 star, so the bathroom isn't marble and you don't get heaps of large towels. However it met all our needs very well. I like the way there is a microwave and a large sink in the 'kitchen' area, also some plates and cutlery. We could fill up the kettle easily in this sink, and didn't have to go into the bathroom and put the kettle on a funny angle. The bed was comfortable, there was a small table with two chairs and a couch. There are two guest laundries which you don't get in higher priced hotels. Best of all the price was very reasonable. The parking was between $12 and $14 dollars a day which is very good for this area. The hotel is very close to bustling Southbank, Federation Square and the Arts precinct. The staff were very helpful and recommended a nearby hairdresser. I would recommend this for people who like to stay in a central area and not pay a huge price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Linda F,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave| Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here with my wife back in January 2013 but only just getting round to writing a review. We stayed 4 or 5 nights amd while it's not a 'luxury' hotel, it's clean, comfortable and ideally located for a first-time visit to Melbourne, right next to the Skytower and a short walk to the Botanical Gardens and Federation Square.

Only down-side was no room safe so have to use a box behind reception which is a little less user friendly as you sometimes have to wait to be served and there was a little lack of consistency when signing the access log. All is taken into their back office however and seems perfectly safe. Staff were very helpful too.

Overall, solid choice of hotel and recommended to my parents who are staying there next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Paul M,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.


Thanks so much for recommending us to your family and we look forward to welcoming them in the future

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Brilliant location. Next door to Eureka Skydeck. A short stroll to all Southbank has to offer and the walk bridge over the Yarra to the CBD.

The hotel is clean, and the staff pleasant and helpful. Room was quite large and the bathroom was clean and well lit. Shower was large and water pressure was good.

Only gripe I have is about the shower. Water goes everywhere!! And I mean everywhere. The bathroom door is water damaged, that is how bad the water from the shower sprays everywhere. They need to replace the shower curtain with a door.

This hotel is hard to beat, price wise and location wise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Denise1002,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We hope to be able to announce a bathroom re-design in the near future, which will assist in minimising the water leaving the shower. In the interim we are purchasing shower curtains long enough to the ground.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 160 in Melbourne
4,889 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 160 in Melbourne
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#90 of 160 in Melbourne
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing