We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, just, no”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Nice pictures in the internet, nice online description. if the reality was the same, the price would be allright. Well, the reality is far away. A very run down place, runned by business minded people who know that very well. On arrival we had to pay the whole amount in advance. That should have made me suspicious. We booked two 2 bed rooms ("deluxe verandah", supposedly the best rooms...., 250 AUD each) and got one bed and a couch in each room instead. The couch was very saggy, i found it very hard to sleep on. Everything is too old and of bad quality. Walls paper thin. The bathroom with mold investation. We asked them to get better rooms, what they first accepted but later refused without giving any reason. I dont think there are better rooms, though. That was the moment, when the staff turned bold unfriendly.
I feel robbed by these people.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterReber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Cottage which was comfortable and convenient in terms of location. However, the room was not quite as advertised. The air-con didn't work, nor did the light in the bedroom (luckily there were bedside lamps that worked). The decor desperately needs updating and the 'luxury' bathroom was comfortable but certainly nothing out of the ordinary. Everything was fairly clean except at the front entrance where there was an ash tray full of old cigarettes. We were only able to access the 'private entrance' when leaving the cottage as there was no key to open it to enter. Finally, the 'buffet breakfast' was very basic. On the positive side the staff were friendly and the location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Polite staff, Breakfast good, BUT rooms are very shabby not the same as they show on the net advertising. The aircon. didnt work in the first room so we were moved. The bathrooms are too small and the basin need a good clean!!TV only a couple of channels work. Parking out the front if you can get a permit?!needs a facelift. ITS best feature central to most city features.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitram_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have just stayed here for 2 nights with a group of 6 in a family suite. The one main bedroom was good but other beds were positioned in hallway and kitchen. Trundle bed mattresses were horrible and dipped dramatically. A good layer of dust on top of fridge and had to ask for bottle opener and extra glasses. Staff were helpful and breakfast in the morning was great! Free off street parking was a real bonus and would stay again simply for great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaF1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great hotel for a reasonable price. Close to the city and the place our family always stays when we go to the football, tennis and shopping. Staff are lovely and helpful, except for the lady who I think was mentioned in a previous review! Breakfast is great and where else can you get free off-street parking! Yes the rooms are tired and need renovating. Yes there are mould stains in the bathroom but the place is clean and tidy and a great couple of restaurants around the corner. Also close to the St Vinents hospitals if visiting loved ones. Will continue to stay at this hotel; just booked for the footy in a few weeks!

Room Tip: Yes the family room is family size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The property is in need of a very serious make over and clean up. We had large patches of peeling paint, cracks and some dirty fittings - generally a very tired look. There was no comforable chair in the room and the bed was of a moderate comfort level. If you like fluffy towels and a plush bed and linen this place is not for you. The location of the property is great, just a very short walk to the CBD and some lovely cafes and restaurants within a few blocks. The staff were polite and helpful and the included breakfast offered a good variety of foods (hot and cold).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our room's decor has seen better days but it was very clean and had everything we needed including a tv, microwave and fridge (without unnecessary bar fridge contents.) Even had a bath in the ensuite, tho very short. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable - these are the essentials to us. Breakfast was buffet style and entirely adequate.It was 30C+ in Melbourne during our visit; when we arrived, we found A/C not working and the staff were very happy to move us immediately, no problems. It's just a short walk thro Fitzroy and Treasury Gardens to the city. Can also use the 48 and 75 route trams along Wellington St or the train from Jolimont/MCG station. Great value.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning is working if the weather is as hot as it has been recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 161 in Melbourne
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
623 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#158 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £52 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing