We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers in East Melbourne” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Court Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #137 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
BURPENGARY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers in East Melbourne”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice location ruined by terrible staff. The location was excellent within 10 minutes of the MCG and 15 minute walk to the CBD. I had taken my 15 year old son to the footy for his birthday and booked a twin room. The room was fairly cramped with two single beds end to end. Basic facilities but clean and reasonable. Our experience with the staff however was terrible. Twice had the manager hang up in my ear prior to arrival. should have been an omen. Overcharged for the room and then lied about it. Blamed Booking.com and wouldn't acknowledge paperwork proving the correct amount. I wouldn't go back and am still waiting for a response to my last two emails. As you can see all of my reviews are typically positive but these guys are not to be trusted. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    57
    59
    34
    28
See reviews for
21
89
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orbost
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Great central accommodation, although the rooms are on the small side. Stayed over night on a boys weekend to the footy and found the accommodation cosy, clean and good value. A quick walk to a 7-11 and the Jolimont station, with a quick train trip into the city. Breakfast was sufficient but a slightly cramped dining room when busy. Would be happy to stay again especially if catching a game of footy at the MCG.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dogmada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This accommodation does have small rooms but these rooms are reasonably cosy. For such a central location the price was excellent, the staff were very friendly and it was an easy walk to a railway or tram line. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the dine-in menu service available. It was great having free Internet and some cooking facilities, including fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, available in the room. I also felt very safe as guests needed a room key to get into the hotel, so very good security measures.
The only fault I would give it is that the lights are not fitted securely to the walls, the fire alarm was hanging from the roof by its cables (not sure it was really connected). Another suggestion I would give is make available the public transport cards at the front desk (not just magnolia court, but also Metro).

Room Tip: Ask for a top or 2nd floor room on north of the building, views are good, much better than looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure_number
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This is great value for money. Good substantial spread for breakfast, fast wifi, clean room and bathroom. It's not a new place, but the staff work hard and are friendly. Parking is very limited. Air con needs patience but works nicely. Happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Beautiful street surrounds...excellent proximity to Melbourne Park and arenas. That's where the positivity ends, I'm afraid. Our room was not at all like any of the photos on their website. Very small and cramped room, with none of the furnishings like Web page pictures. We slept under cobwebs on the ceiling. The bathroom had the smallest of showers, with very little hot water and mould in the corners of the ceiling. Tiles were cracked. Bed was comfortable, but the covers were old and fraying, and I query if they were fresh. Breakfast was a joke...party pies and cocktail sausages?? Come on...that's little kids party fingerfoods, not breakfast. Parking was in the alleyway behind, and we had to leave our keys with reception to continually move our cars for other guests coming and going. Never coming back!! Feeling a bit ripped off!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Location, location, location. Perfect. But that's where it ended. We arrived with high expectations only to feel disappointed when we entered our room. It was very run down. Whilst settling in, the coffee table leg fell off... lucky no coffee on it at the time. We called room service straight away. A young lady promptly showed up, took one look, said something in broken english and then left. I think she may have said "Too bad".!!
The bathroom was mouldy and everything else seemed to be very rundown and dusty. The king size bed was actually two single matteresses pushed together, but at east it was clean. Hard as a rock though.
Breakfast was a joke. The first morning we arrived at the dining area at around 9.00am (breaky closes at 10:00am) to find the food was all but gone. Plenty of cerial and toast. The only hot food left was a couple of sad old hash browns and a scraping of baked beans. Even the brewed coffee pot was just about empty. The next morning we arrived a bit earlier to find Party pies and cocktail franks for breaky.... I mean.. really!..?.
The hot water ran out, the bathroom ceiling fan didn't work, curtains looked dirty and were hanging off the hooks, cracks in the walls and ceiling, a lot of dust on the ornaments etc etc. I could go on. Not much good to say about this establishment unfortunately. Not worth the money. Stay elsewhere unless you only need a room to sleep and want to be nice and close to everything in Melbourne. I gave one star for each of these two positive things.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Trev and Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Nice pictures in the internet, nice online description. if the reality was the same, the price would be allright. Well, the reality is far away. A very run down place, runned by business minded people who know that very well. On arrival we had to pay the whole amount in advance. That should have made me suspicious. We booked two 2 bed rooms ("deluxe verandah", supposedly the best rooms...., 250 AUD each) and got one bed and a couch in each room instead. The couch was very saggy, i found it very hard to sleep on. Everything is too old and of bad quality. Walls paper thin. The bathroom with mold investation. We asked them to get better rooms, what they first accepted but later refused without giving any reason. I dont think there are better rooms, though. That was the moment, when the staff turned bold unfriendly.
I feel robbed by these people.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterReber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#125 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Property: Magnolia Court Boutique
Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing