We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Magnolia Court Boutique, Melbourne is an excellent place to stay with all basic needs (free breakfast - good variety of choices, free Wifi) at a very budget price. Located at a very beautiful residential place, near to MCG and CBD; tram stations are very nearby, even the city circle tram (which offers free ride). Good for single, couple or family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedangshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have known this property for over 15 years but never stayed there. I booked in for one night this week as I had a meeting round the cirner. Yes, uts cheap at $90 for a base room, but boy is it tired! Reception was fibe. Friendly. The room, number 7, was poor. Durty. Scratched paintwork. The bathroom was mouldy and definitely below standard. But on the positive side, the location is great. Its quiet. Close to some very nice eateries. Unsure the intentions of the owners, but this would make a very very good boutique B & B if money was spent.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing the charming pictures on the internet. I was shocked at the state of the room (room 5). Poor fitting curtains, broken mirror in the bathroom, soap dispenser with no soap, broken handle with exposed wires on the hairdryer, broken bedside lamps (likely to scone you on the head if you accidentally knocked them), exposed fuse box on the wall, FREEZING cold. Generally B&Bs I've stayed at are warm, cosy and homely. This is the 'polar' opposite. They rate themselves as 4 star. I recently stayed at the Carrington Hotel in Katoomba which is four star - Magnolia Court is nowhere in their league. Stay here if you like it cheap and nasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiddo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice location ruined by terrible staff. The location was excellent within 10 minutes of the MCG and 15 minute walk to the CBD. I had taken my 15 year old son to the footy for his birthday and booked a twin room. The room was fairly cramped with two single beds end to end. Basic facilities but clean and reasonable. Our experience with the staff however was terrible. Twice had the manager hang up in my ear prior to arrival. should have been an omen. Overcharged for the room and then lied about it. Blamed Booking.com and wouldn't acknowledge paperwork proving the correct amount. I wouldn't go back and am still waiting for a response to my last two emails. As you can see all of my reviews are typically positive but these guys are not to be trusted. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great central accommodation, although the rooms are on the small side. Stayed over night on a boys weekend to the footy and found the accommodation cosy, clean and good value. A quick walk to a 7-11 and the Jolimont station, with a quick train trip into the city. Breakfast was sufficient but a slightly cramped dining room when busy. Would be happy to stay again especially if catching a game of footy at the MCG.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank dogmada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This accommodation does have small rooms but these rooms are reasonably cosy. For such a central location the price was excellent, the staff were very friendly and it was an easy walk to a railway or tram line. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the dine-in menu service available. It was great having free Internet and some cooking facilities, including fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, available in the room. I also felt very safe as guests needed a room key to get into the hotel, so very good security measures.
The only fault I would give it is that the lights are not fitted securely to the walls, the fire alarm was hanging from the roof by its cables (not sure it was really connected). Another suggestion I would give is make available the public transport cards at the front desk (not just magnolia court, but also Metro).

Room Tip: Ask for a top or 2nd floor room on north of the building, views are good, much better than looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure_number
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This is great value for money. Good substantial spread for breakfast, fast wifi, clean room and bathroom. It's not a new place, but the staff work hard and are friendly. Parking is very limited. Air con needs patience but works nicely. Happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 161 in Melbourne
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
217 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £54 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing