We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is no 'boutique'.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #147 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Scooter64
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is no 'boutique'.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We often passed this place and thought it looked really boutiquie. How wrong. Upon arrival thought that we could get a parking permit to park on the street as it is residentail inner city. They only had one permit and first in best dressed so we missed out. Then the receptionist tried to tell us to trust him and that we could park on the street. Is he for real. We live in Melbourne and know how to read parking signs. Residential parking only. Expensive $170 a night and the rooms are tired and the bathroom mouldy. The uht milk was frozen and off. I am sorry but this is the first time that I have written such a review. I wont be back and I do not recommend. Our very first hotel stay where we have been really disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    59
    64
    35
    33
See reviews for
23
93
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

have often stayed here over many years.enjoy the proximity to charming east melbourne history and architecture.also the fitzroy gardens.whilst a bit tired,tis still good value especially the free cooked breakfast.italian lavender in the garden was blooming [as is the english lavender in summer].sitting outside with this perfume is a treat. wandering the streets with all the old- fashioned spring gardens coming alive was a delight.am looking forward to my next stay in east melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meri556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Should be renovated, everything is very used. But friendly staff. Icecold in the ground floor. We Bad a deluxe room, but this was really far away od beeing luxury. The ceiling in the bathroom was brown, and the floor was smelling.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuBe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Magnolia Court Boutique, Melbourne is an excellent place to stay with all basic needs (free breakfast - good variety of choices, free Wifi) at a very budget price. Located at a very beautiful residential place, near to MCG and CBD; tram stations are very nearby, even the city circle tram (which offers free ride). Good for single, couple or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedangshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I have known this property for over 15 years but never stayed there. I booked in for one night this week as I had a meeting round the cirner. Yes, uts cheap at $90 for a base room, but boy is it tired! Reception was fibe. Friendly. The room, number 7, was poor. Durty. Scratched paintwork. The bathroom was mouldy and definitely below standard. But on the positive side, the location is great. Its quiet. Close to some very nice eateries. Unsure the intentions of the owners, but this would make a very very good boutique B & B if money was spent.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing the charming pictures on the internet. I was shocked at the state of the room (room 5). Poor fitting curtains, broken mirror in the bathroom, soap dispenser with no soap, broken handle with exposed wires on the hairdryer, broken bedside lamps (likely to scone you on the head if you accidentally knocked them), exposed fuse box on the wall, FREEZING cold. Generally B&Bs I've stayed at are warm, cosy and homely. This is the 'polar' opposite. They rate themselves as 4 star. I recently stayed at the Carrington Hotel in Katoomba which is four star - Magnolia Court is nowhere in their league. Stay here if you like it cheap and nasty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiddo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURPENGARY
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice location ruined by terrible staff. The location was excellent within 10 minutes of the MCG and 15 minute walk to the CBD. I had taken my 15 year old son to the footy for his birthday and booked a twin room. The room was fairly cramped with two single beds end to end. Basic facilities but clean and reasonable. Our experience with the staff however was terrible. Twice had the manager hang up in my ear prior to arrival. should have been an omen. Overcharged for the room and then lied about it. Blamed Booking.com and wouldn't acknowledge paperwork proving the correct amount. I wouldn't go back and am still waiting for a response to my last two emails. As you can see all of my reviews are typically positive but these guys are not to be trusted. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
1,607 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Property: Magnolia Court Boutique
Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing