We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 'boutique'.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not 'boutique'.....”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The place is clean and very convenient to the city and public transport. However it is rather rundown, at least in the room we stayed (balcony apartment). One cupboard had a door hanging off, the walls were marked and scratched and the paint was cracking in places. Some of the furniture fit the antique style of the property but unfortunately, most of it was seventies style. It seriously needs refurbishment. With some work, this property could easily fit the boutique tag, but it is still some way off that mark.

We didn't eat the breakfast provided so I can't comment on the quality, although the breakfast area did look lovely with a look out over a well tended garden.

It is very easy to pay a similar rate for an apartment right in the CBD that is in much better condition.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    58
    63
    34
    31
See reviews for
22
92
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SW England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We received a warm welcome when we arrived on a cold evening in July. The building is one of the many attractive older properties in Melbourne although there is a wing built on in the 50s or 60s. Our room was up two flights and needed a bit of heating up - the elderly wall air conditioning & heating unit seemed more suited to Melbourne summers than winters. The bedroom was clean, a bit basic but fairly comfortable. Breakfast was eaten in a pleasant room overlooking the front garden and street, the fare provided was standard but coffee etc topped up quickly when empty. The central location makes this hotel a reasonably priced place to stay for major sporting events (tennis, cricket) and is within walking distance of many of Melbourne's attractions, shops and public transport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Excellent location on a small budget was what we were after, and Magnolia Court delivered. The room was clean and tidy, bathroom fine. The service was professional. Breakfast included each day, and was lovely. The best thing was the location - we walked everywhere! I would definitely stay there again, but perhaps it's not for those wanting luxury.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappilyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

If only I had checked with Tripadvisor before I booked at tis hotel - the website had artfully disguised the monstrous concrete extension to the side of the building and I actually believed that I would be staying in a tasteful hotel. What a disappointment to arrive and find myself in a tiny, dark, cramped side room in the extension, with a sub standard bathroom with chipped tiles and a plastic shower curtain. It was straight out of the 50's and more boarding house than boutique hotel. I tried in vain to find alternative accommodation for my 4 night visit, but was unable to because of a Pro/Am golf tournament. Never again will I believe a website without checking it out thoroughly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Having read the other reviews I'm not sure whether this hotel has been recently upgraded or people's expectations are just way too high. This is one of the few hotels in inner city Melbourne that has rooms for less than $100 per night and includes breakfast. The location is brilliant - a 3 minute walk to the MCG and a brief 10 minute walk through the Fitzroy Gardens to the CBD. The staff were friendly and helped with directions and suggestions. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms, whilst on the small side (but really for less than $100 what do you expect - it's bigger than a hostel room and has an ensuite) were clean and airconditioned with a fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. And really, when you're visiting how much time are you going to spend in your room - if you're planning to spend the majority of your stay in your room, splash out on something more expensive! The included breakfast was absolutely fine - there was a variety of cereals, breads and juices. I didn't expect a hot breakfast (the booking said continental breakfast) but it was available and included baked beans, sausages, hash browns, pies and eggs. Yes the eggs were hardboiled but if they provided someone to cook the eggs differently and included things like mushrooms and tomatoes then it probably wouldn't be viable to provide it!! (and if the sausages aren't to your liking then don't eat them). If you're looking for that type of breakfast take a short walk and buy it in one of the many nearby cafes where they have staff that are trained to cook to your preference.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4chillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2009

While the hosts did their best and tried to be helpful they were let down, most likely by the owners lack of investment in the property. As reported in previous blogs the gardens were weed infested, "buffet" breakfast was fried cheap sausages, a few boiled eggs in their shells, a plate of cold baked beans and some stale looking party pies even my 17yo carnivore son would not eat (amazing) and some average cereals. TV's and Air cons need replacing. It could be so much better with some attention. Not as if it was cheap either.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I 100% recommend Magnolia Court. It is excellent value in a beautiful (& quiet) tree-lined street walking distance through lovely gardens to the city; or to shopping in Fitzroy. Breakfast was a in lovely sunlit dining room & was standard fare (toast, cereal etc, I'm vegan, so couldn't take advantage of the cooked breakfast). Staff were all very friendly, and on my last day went out of their way to book me on the Skybus to the airport at very short notice. The room was small, but in a cosy, not cluttered, sense; more than adequate to lay my head at the end of a long day of work & shopping.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Jolimont
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Property: Magnolia Court Boutique
Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing