We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning walk”
Review of Fitzroy Gardens

Fitzroy Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.83*
and up
Half-Day Melbourne City Laneways and Arcades Tour with Eureka Skydeck
Ranked #20 of 410 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Morning walk”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We walked to this garden early in the morning. This is a beautiful garden and captain cook's cottage is here. It really gave you a calming effect.

Helpful?
Thank EliseAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    423
    56
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
282 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Take time for Fitzroy Gardens”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fitzroy Gardens was beautiful in the Fall, in the rain. If you don't have time for the Botanic Gardens, this park is good, too. Captain Cook's parent's home, moved from England, is there, a patch of miniature decorative cottages, a tree decorated with colorful woodland carvings are a couple of the surprises you'll encounter on your walk. There's a tea shop and nearby restrooms.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
773 reviews
325 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful - Chill Out”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking for a place to unwind then Fitzroy Gardens is the place. The gardens are well maintained, and there is always something to see regardless of the season. I enjoy walking through the gardens either first thing in the morning or late afternoon. The walking paths are extensive and provide access to all parts of the gardens. If you have time, pay a visit to Captain Cook's cottage which is at the bottom end of the gardens closest to Wellington Parade.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting Fitzroy Gardens for the first time, in winter, surprised me. I wasn't expecting a lot of beauty, due to the cold weather. However the gardeners have cleverly created gardens that are beautiful even in winter. There were plants in flower - although I'm sure there are many more in spring/summer. Even the plants without flowers are beautiful. The repetition of much of the planting allows for a magnificent sense of scale, which creates beauty. Strolling through the gardens gave a sense of what the original creators were trying to re-create, which was a sense of their old home.
Cook's Cottage was interesting, I learnt things I wasn't aware of about his travels, and it helped give a sense of place and time to the gardens.
I was inspired by the gardens, taking photographs of things I'd like to create in my own garden, and plan on visiting in the warmer months to make a comparison.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimCofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice & quiet garden to go around!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is very close to city and very good one to enjoy with kids. It has enough attractions for natural photography lovers! A good choice if you want to spend few hours with your family :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SudaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fitzroy Gardens also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Fitzroy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing