We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter at David Jones Food Court: Hunting for an experience of a different kind”
Review of David Jones

David Jones
Ranked #83 of 410 things to do in Melbourne
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easter at David Jones Food Court: Hunting for an experience of a different kind”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The David Jones Food Court was one of the last remaining great food shopping experiences in Melbourne CBD...I say was because it stopped being a pleasant experience.
Easter at David Jones was a hunt for an experience of a different kind. It was one of the few places that were not overcrowded in the CBD, presumably other people knew to avoid David Jones at that time of the year.

Well, I like the fresh juice bar but seriously, having to wait for 30 minutes to get some fresh juices squeezed! It appears that they had to go hunting for some apples, oranges and lemon. And no, this was not because I was in a queue in order to wait to be served but because the Easter bunny must have hidden the fruits, cups and what not...

Hunting for bread was a similar experience, the Easter bunny took it all away and took the staff with it - and it was only 14.30. What is it about staff at the food court and deciding that their shift has ended and they can drop your bread at the other end of the service counter and chit chat while you go looking for your missing (paid) bread.

Last but not least, after such a search, you might decide that you need something to eat. Well, look no more because you will see what everyone before you has eaten...and therefore you can make a very informed decision. The only thing left is hunting for some space to put your plate...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    74
    26
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a great range at DJs”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

David Jones is a favourite shopping destination of mine - it has a great range of menswear, not the cheapest but always good quality

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuckyBlue__7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Personal attention!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I went to buy stockings and costume jewellery. I have to say, on previous occasions I have found the lack of personal attention annoying. On this occasion it was great. The sales person spent a lot of time and gave personalised advice....If this is the way from now on ....keep it up!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank judith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Service - and a fantastic food hall downstairs!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have just enjoyed a lovely week staying in the CBD - and we strolled across the mall to David Jones nearly every day!
Downstairs in the food hall there was a huge variety of fresh juices, smoothies, freshly baked sweet and savoury delights - as well as an oyster bar, noodle bar and just about everything else you could imagine!
The Staff in David Jones are all very friendly and polite, and I am looking forward to visiting again when we are next in Melbourne :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Noodle bar needs a major upgrade”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a disappointment, dirty and tired menus, and the staff looked the same.
When you cook in front of customers you should remember that english is what you should b e speaking. To speak their native language in front of customers is very rude, and I would think that if a staff member was serving me with shoes I would expect them to be speaking english all the time.
DJ's should have the best and most modern cooking equipment on show, you can go down one of the lanes and see food being cooked like this. Your food area needs a good clean up, at least bright and fashionable uniforms, there are many disappointments in this department, your loyal customers expect more

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SandypHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Jones also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to David Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing