We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myer

Myer
Ranked #94 of 377 things to do in Melbourne
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Swanky place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited the Myer Christmas windows on the 23rd December, we waited for an hour. Can I say it was well worth it? Maybe. After the windows, we visited Santaland and my child enjoyed the Santaland Express, a little train which is free. He enjoyed it. Overall, it is a swanky department store, with three cafés, the Emporium, which is lovely, Brunetti and Jasper coffee. Kids clothes are reasonably priced if there is a sale on and there lots of nicknacks, Xmas gift ideas next to Santaland. Worth a visit I f you're a tourist.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank malaccaRulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    23
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Christmas Windows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very well displayed with colourful lightings, moving big dolls and good storyline. The windows are best to be seen at night. It was a very long 1 hour queue on a Sunday night at 10-11pm. A lot of families were still around, but please be mindful of your kid's bedtime, as there were some cranky kids (and, hence, parents). Make sure to bring enough water & snacks, just in case. The story was audible. There were live musics until about 10pm.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivettainaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best shopping centres in melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Myer is so big and there are many different types of produts inside.. When I went there.. They were having their christmas sale.. The products were pretty cheap.. Especially their perfume..

Helpful?
Thank tiffany_vong
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,327 reviews
512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
“Myer- a Melbourne icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Myer is the pre-eminent Melbourne department store, and Bourke Street Mall is their flagship store.

In the recent past, the store has been completely renovated. For anyone who hasn't been there for some time, it's worth another look, as it has a completely new look.

There is considerable rivalry between Myer and David Jones- which also has a Bourke Street Mall location.

Myer is a big store- it's worth looking through to see what you can discover!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Yesterday my fiancé and I went back to the Chanel stall at Myers with the aim of buying some products after attended the make up session that she purchased along with some other Chanel products in October. The make up session is to discover the best Chanel products for the face and of course to make the consumer come back to buy those products. She was promised that those products used on her will be recorded down in her Myers customer's file. We came back and were assisted by a Chanel sales rep, Nicky. From the time she approached us to when we left, she never had a smile on her face. we were shocked as we have always experienced great customer service from the Myers Chanel stall. We told Nicky the season of our visit so she went and search for my fiancé's product record from the make up session. When the record card was retrieve it was blanked. No records of any products however Nicky failed to apologise. She told us "sorry darl the lady didn't write them down, but you don't need it I can tell you which one is god for you". So she took us over to the product stand and showed us some products that she recommend. at that stage we had no interest in buying the products from her so we told her we will think about it. As soon as we said that she just walked off with an annoyed look on her face. If anyone is planning to shop at the Chanel, Myers Melbourne please do not buy from Nicky, a middle aged woman who had no idea what customer service is. we will be coming back today to buy from another service rep.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davonchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myer also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Myer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing