We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Ranked #122 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The reception experience is pretty casual, reminiscent of an Italian family-run pensione, but it is friendly. The room was small but clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was roomy. The kitchenette was well appointed and equipped. We were at the back but still got garbage truck noise in the early hours. I think I would push for a front room on Lygon Street next time. All in all a great spot for our purposes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed in room 116 the tap is still broken. All in all it was okay for $150 a night in Lygon Street. Couldn't open the wardrobe door due to the two beds in the unit. However a fair place to stay when getting out and about in Melbourne is the main reason for your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeistyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We did a 3 week tour of parts of Australia in March 2013,visiting relatives & sight seeing.Our accommodation varied immensly but Lygon Lodge stands out as the jewel in the crown.Very friendly welcome,superb clean room with excellent facilities,marvellous location and the nicest of owners. We have never been given a complimentary bottle of wine to take out to our meal before,unfortunately the restaurant suggested was not open that night but if they were friends of Lygon Lodge then no doubt it would have been a great evening.Just wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished but ask for one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My partner an I stayed here for the 1st time to access the Melbourne flower and garden show. Is it 5 star no its not. Was the room we were given ( 217) up to scratch yes it was and it looked out onto Lygon street, had a small balcony on which you could sit and soak up the street view and if you wanted you could sit in your room and soak up the street view through the full length picture window. Initially we were concerned about street noise and if you are sensitive to noise then the front rooms may not be for you but I can honestly say the save for 1 night when a reality TV show Professional Masterchef took over the street right in front of our room and started banging around from 5am in the morning (I have to say the food they knocked up was pretty average) we both got good sleep and enjoyed the streetview.

Were Bob and his staff up to scratch and friendly yes they all were. Could Bob do a Dr Jeckel and Mr Hyde on you probably if you cheese him off but you would probably have to try fairly hard to do so.

Parking is compact so bringing you 4 wheel drive or other large car will at least test your skills if not totally frustrate you so come Italian come compact and you will remain unstressed.

All in all this place had all it advertised for us and more particularly location location location as you can walk, tram and bus into the CBD and beyond.

Room Tip: On Lygon Street if you like to watch the passing parade with a wine in hand and don't mind a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpannerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have stayed at this Lodge when renovations were in progress so it was to my disgust that on the next stay when renovations had finished we ended up in a room with mould all over bathroom ceiling plus no top sheet and dirty marked carpet, I will never go back and I do not recommend this place when there is the Downtowner just down the road, the owner was not friendly and seemed to be happy drinking out the front with friends. Never again .

Room Tip: I don't think they have good rooms , sorry for being mean but it is the truth. We had a corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We needed accommodation at last minute and Bob was very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean, beds were comfortable & bathrooms were a good size. Close to a tram stop and only 10mins on the tram (if that) to Flinders Street. Would definitely stay here again - price/location makes it a great find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbrcate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Booked and paid for through an airline package. Owner did not honour this booking and charged for the room. Said he had no such arrangement with Virgin Australia. Bathroom was smelly too, and there was constant building noise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessTurandot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#44 of 162 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 162 in Melbourne
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#155 of 162 in Melbourne
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing