We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lygon Lodge Carlton
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks on Lonsdale(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$103
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$138
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
39
75
22
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
75
22
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree car parkingstayed hereroom with excellent facilitiesgreat locationwalking distance to the cityself catermelbourne experiencekitchen areamelbourne museumvic marketsprincess theatrevisiting melbournespa bathgreat place to staywould stay here againgood sizepublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for a business trip great to get back from a grueling day to be able to walk out of the hotel door and be able to walk to some of the best eateries in the world. They upgraded a few of our group from shared rooms to single rooms. Beds were great good size bathroom free parking was a great perk. Staff were great will definitely be a return customer

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiechick3564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The reception experience is pretty casual, reminiscent of an Italian family-run pensione, but it is friendly. The room was small but clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was roomy. The kitchenette was well appointed and equipped. We were at the back but still got garbage truck noise in the early hours. I think I would push for a front room on Lygon Street next time. All in all a great spot for our purposes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed in room 116 the tap is still broken. All in all it was okay for $150 a night in Lygon Street. Couldn't open the wardrobe door due to the two beds in the unit. However a fair place to stay when getting out and about in Melbourne is the main reason for your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeistyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We did a 3 week tour of parts of Australia in March 2013,visiting relatives & sight seeing.Our accommodation varied immensly but Lygon Lodge stands out as the jewel in the crown.Very friendly welcome,superb clean room with excellent facilities,marvellous location and the nicest of owners. We have never been given a complimentary bottle of wine to take out to our meal before,unfortunately the restaurant suggested was not open that night but if they were friends of Lygon Lodge then no doubt it would have been a great evening.Just wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished but ask for one of those
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My partner an I stayed here for the 1st time to access the Melbourne flower and garden show. Is it 5 star no its not. Was the room we were given ( 217) up to scratch yes it was and it looked out onto Lygon street, had a small balcony on which you could sit and soak up the street view and if you wanted you could sit in your room and soak up the street view through the full length picture window. Initially we were concerned about street noise and if you are sensitive to noise then the front rooms may not be for you but I can honestly say the save for 1 night when a reality TV show Professional Masterchef took over the street right in front of our room and started banging around from 5am in the morning (I have to say the food they knocked up was pretty average) we both got good sleep and enjoyed the streetview.

Were Bob and his staff up to scratch and friendly yes they all were. Could Bob do a Dr Jeckel and Mr Hyde on you probably if you cheese him off but you would probably have to try fairly hard to do so.

Parking is compact so bringing you 4 wheel drive or other large car will at least test your skills if not totally frustrate you so come Italian come compact and you will remain unstressed.

All in all this place had all it advertised for us and more particularly location location location as you can walk, tram and bus into the CBD and beyond.

Room Tip: On Lygon Street if you like to watch the passing parade with a wine in hand and don't mind a bit of noise while trying to get to sleep
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpannerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews