We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...functional room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Over the past two years I have stayed at Lygon Lodge about 5 times.

Each time the staff have been friendly and helpful.

My room has been average in size and clean.

Since it is right on Lygon Street there are heaps of restaurants to dine in.

There is no restaurant on the premises, but breakast can be taken care of in any one of the numerous restaurants and cafes that do a breakfast trade in Lygon Street.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IronchefAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 141 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is a decent hotel, on Lygon Street, with great Italian eateries. Have stayed there three times now. On the second time we had a fantastic room which had been refurbished. The third time we were given an older room with a very average bed, which we sunk into the middle of. However I would stay there again. It is walking distance to the city, can pick up a cab no worries. Fine to stay there if you spend most of your time out and about in Melbourne as that is what we do! It's just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kitty060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I stayed here one night in May 2007. My office had booked a room with kitchen facilities for almost 2 weeks, but I had to find somewhere else to stay after the first night as this venue was not suitable. I believe the nightly rate was $120/night.

I arrived the morning at 9am to check-in. I was given keys to a room to drop my things in. They were still cleaning it which is no problem as I was early. I could tell right away this place was pretty much a dump but had to get going to work. I would need to deal with it later.

The room is quite small, even with a kitchenette. There are cigarette holes on the carpet and bed spread, stains on the sheets. The night table by the bed still had dried liquid where someone had spilled a coffee or some drink like that. The phone didn't work in the room. You can hear everything that goes on outside your room in the hall.

Even with all this, the biggest problem with this place is they don't really keep track of which rooms that have occupants in them. My colleagues (2 other co workers had rooms here) and I all experienced having another guest try to come into our rooms (they were given keys!) while we were in them! Not much for security. This wasn't much of a surprise as even checking in, the guy at the desk uses terms like "lets try to find you a room." It is clear he isn't sure which is full and which is empty.

After a very uncomfortable night, I packed up all my valuables and brought them to the office I was working out of in the area because I didn't feel comfortable leaving anything of value there. I spoke to the people who had booked this room for us and they said they had never used it before so didn't know it was that bad. I was switched to another location in the area for a similar rate and everything was fine. There are other nice places to stay for a reasonable rate in this area.

I should have taken pictures, but it's not a night I really care to remember. The one good thing is that they didn't raise too much of a fuss with me checking out early and cutting my stay short.

I will say the bathroom in the room had been newly remodeled and looked quite nice. The website has pictures of rooms, but the room I had looks nothing like the rooms posted there.

Do Not Stay Here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank WestcoastguyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ReiseTriine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#63 of 161 in Melbourne
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenferrie Hotel
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Quest Flemington
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing