We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miami Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Miami - the rooms were neat and regularly serviced, the bathroom and showers were clean and private, and the staff were all incredibly friendly and willing to help. As far as hostels go, I would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    269
    70
    10
    9
See reviews for
110
180
74
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite far away from the centre. But you can take the tram or the bus. Restaurants are very few in the surroundings. Small breakfast buffet. The rooms are old and small. The bathroom is very small with a shower. The reality doesn't correspond to the description and pictures on the booking site.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwomanlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersKel, General Manager at Miami Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback although I am a little surprised by your feedback.
We welcome constructive criticism it's how we improve, and it is always good to hear from different people their different take on the place. If you stayed in one of our economy or backpacker rooms then you are correct, they are old and out dated. Whilst they have new beds, curtains and blinds, the carpet, cupboards and so on, have seen better days. You will be happy to hear we are closing this section in March and we will be renovating them to our 3.5Star standard with private bathroom. We are currently 60% of our way through upgrading our en-suite rooms, so there are a few oldish en-suite rooms, but they are well appointed, and the bathrooms are not that old as they have been added to rooms.
I'm sorry to hear you couldn't find any good local eateries, we have so many just across the road in the North Melbourne Shopping Strip... Amiconi Italian restaurant has been a favourite to many in Melbourne for authentic Italian food for over 50 years.. Sosta is modern Italian and has been written up / recommended in The Age food guide many times.. Just to name a few..
We are not in the CBD and it is around a 20 - 30min walk to the centre of town, that's why the tram across the road is so handy for our guests.. leaving every 10-15mins tram 57 makes getting around Melbourne extremely easy..
I do hope you decide to give us another go when you are next in Melbourne, we are constantly working on upgrading the property, we are only limited by the outside walls of our 44 year old building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A friendly,clean and spacious hotel ideal for an economical city break. We were a grown up family of four and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When approached for guidance on things to see and do, how to get to places etc. they were very forthcoming.
Well done the management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amritsar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Its not in CBD but at comfortable distance from it.Near to tram station.Rooms was clean.I booked a in-suite twin bed room which was having refrigerator and tea/coffee maker. Toiletries were available in bathroom.Katrina's coffee n cakes were of great taste.Common Kitchen was available with microwave/utensils for self cooking.Ask for ground floor rooms as hotel don't have any elevators.Tram station was nearby.Must visit Ballarat and Great Ocean Road when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Book ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked this place purely because it was cheap so wasn't expecting much. The rooms are very clean and larger than expected, with very good bathroom facilities - usually the first thing to suffer when you scrimp on the price. The location was great - about 30 minute walk from Docklands, CBD and MCG. The staff were really friendly and helpful bar one slightly insincere gentleman who was unnecessarily fussy, but the other staff more than made up for this and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187dashizzle187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The rooms are very clean, and in the midst of the city. Walking distance to everything. A reasonably priced hotel with excellent staff. The staff is what makes THE MIAMI A GREAT AND ENJOYABLE STAY. WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRDGlobal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Miami Hotel on two separate occasions. One was a 3 night stay and the other was another 3 night stay on AFL Grand Final week. Both occasions the service was first class. The hotel is very clean and in an excellent location. Walking distance to the Victoria Market and then to the city centre. Close by to good restaurants and pubs. Can't fault this hotel. Will stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRDGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#116 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Property: Miami Hotel Melbourne
Address: 13 Hawke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it's the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 Star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing