We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miami Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #71 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed there for two night as we went to a planet shakers conference we found the room perfect for what we needed, a king size bed was great, and the shower was fantastic and a very clean room. We could not hear any other people and we were on the bottom floor. Very helpful and friendly staff. About $15 taxi to casino area. Would stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Miami Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights in the first week of June. After an overnight flight, we hired a car a the airport and reached the hotel. While our checkin was supposed to be after noon, the reception was very forthcoming to check us in early in the morning(around 9-10 am). We had a free car park for the duration of our stay. The room was on the 3rd floor, and we needed to climb two levels of stairs(no lifts). However, the room was one of the renovated rooms and it was in excellent condition. Room was big, but the attached bath/toilet was small, just sufficient. The beds were comfortable. We found the reception staff to be particularly helpful in directing us around, well knowledgeable and professional in what they were doing. There is a separate kitchen which has all cooking gadgets, so we did a lot of cooking inhouse during our stay. Not far from the hotel is super market where we could find everything required for cooking. We found this the right choice for us, considering we had to stay/cook/looking for value.

Room Tip: Look for the recently renovated rooms. Our room on the top floor had a view to the city skyline.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAJASHENOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A good value, comfortable clean friendly place in a good location and had parking included. Room was not huge but all I needed. A short stroll to Victoria market and not too far to walk to Melbourne CBD and the free tram. They were doing some renovations, but it all stopped at night. Would recommend it unless you want a big flash place for $200 a night.

Room Tip: Sort of top end backpackers hotel. Everything I needed for my overnight in Melbourne. Plenty of eati...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeongogangsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only needed a bed to sleep in. Our room included king and 2 x singles. As we were going to the football with two small children, we didn't get back to our room until 11.00 then left at 9.00 the next morning, so it was perfect for what we required.
Room was spotless and staff were very friendly.
The room was a little noisy from the passing traffic, but so be it.
Parking was extra $9 so total cost of one night was $164 for a family of 4, so that's not bad.
15 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, with a stop of at the Royal Mail Hotel for some dinner before the game.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After a 12 hour train and bus and taxi journey from Adelaide I arrived at this hotel. It really was a most uninviting and depressing experience to drag my suitcase up what seemed an unending flight of scruffy stairs and along a gloomy corridor all of which needed a new carpet to a claustrophobic room. The hotel seemed to be situated in a scruffy residential area and I don't think there was anywhere nearby to buy food or drink to make matters worse, there was no drink making kit in the room and in the morning I begged a cup of coffee from some students who seemed to be self catering in a kitchen only thanks to a helpful apologetic receptionist.
I don't think this place has any right to call itself a hotel, it is more of a lodging house.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8kyoto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersKel, General Manager at Miami Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review,
Our property is in a residential area, a very quiet, safe and quaint area of Melbourne, with significant historic value, and appeal. Hardly drab and depressing, and very close to the Victoria Market, Public transport and a range of cafes, bakeries and restaurants. Errol Street North Melbourne is across the road (a 2 min walk) with banks, supermarket, chemist, 7Eleven and all your everyday conveniences.
Our en-suite rooms are advertised with tea/coffee facilities in the room, our economy rooms (now closed for renovation and have been since late Jan 2014) were a backpacker style room, without tea/coffee facilities in the room. The self catering kitchen, is for just that, self catering, bring your own food and cater for yourself. We also have a coffee bar open daily for coffee, breakfast and a range of sweet treats.
Miami Hotel Melbourne clearly advertises that our rooms are on 3 levels, ground, first and second floors, up stairs and no lift. However, 2 flights of stairs to the second floor is hardly never ending. And as far as corridors go in 44 year old buildings ours are wide, freshly painted, well lit and the oldest carpet is 2 years old.
After 44 years of trade and numerous awards, yearly visits from AAA Star Ratings and external accreditation we have every right to call ourselves a hotel.
You only need to look at our very many positive reviews to know we are friendly, clean and mostly meet / exceed the expectations of our guests.
I guess we can't please everyone, and in this case we have not been able to meet your expectations, for that I am sorry.
I do feel however, that your feedback is somewhat harsh and misleading.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a room for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay from start to finish.
Staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. They made sure we had everything we needed. We had just arrived in Melbourne and they were very informative about directions and points of interest. The room was nice and clean. The communal kitchen area was also quite nice and had everything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone from backpackers to families.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not fancy, but clean, reasonably well located, and comfortable for our family of four. The two room suite is especially nice for a family with children. Nearby streetcar service makes for easy travel to the CBD. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennesseans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Address: 13 Hawke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it's the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 Star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing