We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly warm and cosy feeling staying at what would, ordinarily, be termed Budget Accommodation!”
Review of City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Square Motel
Ranked #120 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A surprisingly warm and cosy feeling staying at what would, ordinarily, be termed Budget Accommodation!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Typical of the saying "Don't judge a book by the Cover".

At first glance, the small reception area and quite dingy lifts, had me a tad worried as I headed up to the sixth floor. I need not have worried. I think I had the smallest room (only with a single sized bed) in the hotel but oh so comfortable, cosy and clean.

Nicely laid out - yes, it's older and you can hear the trams at night but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Excellent location in the heart of the city.

Toast and condiments supplied in the room. Tiny, but tastefully designed, shower room.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    94
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
32
47
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Can't beat the price for a downtown CBD hotel and location is perfect - particularly if you don't have a car and are relying on the trams to get around.
Reception (well, a window at the end of a small corridor) and the lifts are old and gloomy.
Kind of has the feeling it could be a haunted building.. lol
I got room 211 (a disabled / special needs room) despite being and able-bodied person. This isn't an issue apart from the fact that the shower didn't have a screen or curtain - water just spilled all over the bathroom floor. Understand this is necessary for a disabled room, but didn't suit me at all walking across a wet floor at night. (As I was only staying one night I didn't bother asking to change rooms, but be aware of this if you get 211!)
Window is tiny and about 2 meters from the wall of the next building - very little natural light.
Quiet room, however, and slept well.
Furnishings nice and very clean.
Tea and coffee facilities provided, and two pieces of bread in the fridge which you can toast in the morning - nice touch.
Don't expect too much - you get what you pay for. But if you're looking for a clean, budget hotel in the city, this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Amazing location, Collins St, Bourke St Mall, Flinders St Station, Trams all at your fingertips. The reception staff were all helpful & willing to help with directions. A bit noisy at night, we were right near the elevators though. Room had a fridge, microwave & Motel provides bread, butter, jam & vegemite for a light breakfast. In future I will always stay here when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is in a very great city location. The rooms were large, modern and clean. All staff were very friendly and parking was available nearby at a great rate. Unfortunateley the outside noise was just terrible. Despite wearing ear plugs, my husband and I were only able to get a couple of hours sleep a night. We expected some noise being central Melbourne city but the amount was rediculous. Unfortunateley we would definately never stay again only due to the noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Unfortunately our flight from Tasmania touched down at 6 p.m. on a Sunday just when the hotel reception closes. However I rang the motel and was given a security code to get in, told the room number and that the key would be left outside our room; we had no problems at all in accessing our room. The motel name is in very large letters, not only outside on Swanston Street, but also over the reception desk.

As well as all the restaurants and shops outside, many of which were open 24/7, there was also a taxi rank directly opposite which was very useful for getting to the airport. We found the reception staff friendly and helpful; the reception is quite small but perfectly acceptable. The complimentary breakfast is basic but, for the price, should one expect breakfast at all.

The room we stayed in the first night was quite large and looked out over Swanston Street; although we could hear the trams rumbling past they didn't disturb us. The bathroom was very large, spotlessly clean and modern with a huge shower cubicle. Apparently some of the bathrooms in the motel are larger and more luxurious than some 5* hotels in Melbourne. The room we were allocated for our second night a few days later was at the back of the hotel with no view and was slightly smaller, but the bathroom was still of a very high standard.

If anyone wants to use the motel's recommended secure car park it is worth pointing out that the name of it is “FLINDERS Gate Secure Parking” at 172 Flinders Street and not “Kings Gate Secure Parking” as written on the motel's website. It is the nearest secure car park to the motel; the car park ticket, when validated by the motel, costs $16 AUD for 24 hours which is a saving of $29 AUD as the normal price we were told by reception is $45 AUD.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Like others have said, get past the pokey little lobby and this place is just great! The rooms are cheap and well spaced out. Ample breakfast included (toast and spreads, coffee and tea). Location couldn't be better, so close to anything in city centre. Will definitely be back to visit again and again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

As others have noted, the lobby and lift are a bit run-down, but once you get past that the hotel is great. Staff and friendly and helpful, offering good advice for us out-of-towners. The room is clean, and the little kitchenette is great for short stays. However, the best part of the hotel is definitely the location; it is perfect, right in the middle of the CBD and a block away from Flinders St Station. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay, and would definitely stay there if travelling to Melbourne again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cffndncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#112 of 160 in Melbourne
1,652 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Square Motel

Property: City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing