We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    90
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
45
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

You cannot beat this hotel for location and price. Hotel staff are friendly. Room was small and outdated, but clean. My room was right outside the lift, so I suggest if you decide to book a room here, to request one away from the lift.

Room Tip: As I said, a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed at the this hotel 15 years ago & was pleasantly surprised on this current stay that some of the rooms have been renovated (they certainly needed it) We were over for a footy final & with accom at a premium - it was nice to still find somewhere that wasn't going to "break the bank". Close to everything - this is a brilliant location especially if you are not spending much time in yur room as the window view hasn't changed...a brick wall!!
Rooms were spotless & had everything we needed...bed was comfy & the shower was large & great pressure/hot water. We will be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurockAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherglen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and are very pleased with every thing it has to offer close to the railway station as we travel by train usually and we can leave our bags there for the day so that we do't have to carry them around all day untill it is time for the train.
Tha staff are very nice and helpfull rooms clean and comfy and close to eatery places. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albi, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

An economy hotel so not great luxury but was comfortable and clean and very central. The room was well equipped with fridge and microwave (but just cups and saucers and small plates) a double bed and a sofa bed for the three of us, a small but adequate shower room. its main advantage being right in the centre just a very short walk away from Federation Square was also its disadvantage as the trams run right outside nearly all night and there were buskers singing outside the window til late one night. There's no safe in the room but the the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and looked after our safe bag each day. A great and very central option if you just want an economical base to explore the city from - all in all it was fine so would recommend it

Room Tip: If it's possible, a room not overlooking the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcarayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#106 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#115 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#111 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Property: Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing